Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Theatre Research Resources  Tags: theatre  

A guide to help students researching topics in theatre.
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/theatre  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Theatre History             Print Page
  
 

Theatre History

American Theatre Companies, 1749-1936. By Weldon B. Durham. Wesport: Greenwood, 1989.
PN2237 A447 / Music and Performing Arts Library Reference

3 volumes. Information about theatre companies listed chronologically and by state, with an index of personal names and play titles. Includes bibliographies for further reading.
American Theatrical Periodicals, 1798-1967: A Bibliographical Guide. By Carl J. Stratman. Durham: Duke UP, 1970.
016.7914 St8a/ English Library Reference

Lists of theatrical magazines and periodicals published in the U.S., along with which libraries hold them. Arranged chronologically.
Annals of the New York Stage . By George C. Odell. New York: AMS, 1970 (1949).
792 Od2a 1970 / English Library Reference

Comprehensive, 15-volume history of New York theatre, covering 1700 to 1894. With index.

Encyclopedia of the New York Stage, 1920-1950. By Samuel L. Leiter. Westport: Greenwood, 1985.
PN2277.N5 L45
(and 1989 and 1992)/ Music and Performing Arts Library Reference

Information about theatrical productions, listed by title with index in last volume.

London Stage: 1660-1800. By William Van Lennep. Carbondale: SIU, 1965
792.09 L846 / English Library Reference

5 parts, total of 11 volumes. Information compiled from playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries. Arranged chronologically with index.

London Stage: 1890-1959. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1976.
PN2596.L7 L663 / Music and Performing Arts Library Reference

A total of 16 volumes. Information from playbills, arranged chronologically with indexes in the final volume of each part of the series.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design. UIUC Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

A rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric. A sample of sketches from some of the productions were digitized from slides made of the images and then indexed to create a database for scholars and others interested in theatre history.

Notable Names in the American Theatre. Ed. W. Rigdon. Clifton, N.J.: J.T. White, 1976.
PN2285 N683 / Music and Performing Arts Library Reference

Lists the New York premiers of plays before 1976.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKirstin Dougan


Contact Info:
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email

Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait