Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Advanced Corporate Finance  Tags: business_and_economics corporate_finance discount_cash_flow  

This web page has been created for the Finance 321 Discount Cash Flow (DCF) assignment.
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/bel_advcorpfin  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Company Financial Statements             Print Page
  
 

Need More Help?

The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.

 

BEL Homepage

BEL Homepage

Home

About Us

Key Databases

ABI/Inform

EBSCO BSC

EIU

Lexis Nexis

MarketLine

Mergent

OneSource

Small Business Resource Center

WDI Online

U of I Library

Library Gateway

Library Catalog

Online Research Resources

E-Reference

Interlibrary Loan

 
 

Marketline

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258537

Provides "business information from around the world, across markets and inside companies." Products include: industry profiles offering standardized market data and competitive analysis, company profiles for 50,000 public and private companies giving detailed insight into how companies are organized and function, country profiles, Base Drivers Database featuring key macro-economic, social, demographic and industry statistics for 215 countries and live feed of news, comment and analysis to keep you fully up-to-date with all the latest business developments.

The Tools and Databases section (upper right corner) has a link to Value Consumer Markets. Retrieve data on Market Value, Market Volume, Company (Market) Share and Distribution (Channels) for beverages, food, household products, news and magazines, personal care, pet care, and tobacco, for multiple countries, from 1999 to 2011 (as of February 28, 2008).

 

Mergent

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=330410

Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data. Rich textual descriptions offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock.

Annual reports for most companies are available back to 1996.

 

Mergent Horizon (new!)

http://www.mergenthorizon.com.proxy2.library.uiuc.edu/rp/xa/uhome

Mergent Horizon is a filtering front end of 6200 companies from the various exchanges in ferreting out information when performing competitive analyses about companies and industries. Capabilities include:

* Identifying companies simply by entering a product or trade name
* Highlighting the relationships between a company's major customers, suppliers and partners
* Analyzing data for sector aggregates or averages, as well as for individual companies
* Screening companies with hundreds of quantitative and qualitative fields and custom formulas
* Creating reports including Company Profiles, Competitors by Product, and Drug/Medical Device
* Reporting of Events Calendar including earnings reports and FDA meetings

Mergent Horizon is highly recommended for projects related to compeitive intelligence on B to B marketing and industrial distribution. Urbana campus users only and six researchers may use it at a time.

 

WRDS

The Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) resource consists of many datasets in the areas of accounting, economics and finance available in a web interface and can be downloaded into many formats, including SAS. The data are maintained and supported by Wharton staff. The datasets Illinois subscribes include the following:

  • Audit Analytics-Access detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Know who is auditing whom and how much they are paying for what services. Create reports by auditor, fees, location, industry, etc.
  • COMPUSTAT North America-database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 24,000 active and inactive publicly held companies from the past 20 years. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.
  • CRSP-maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases .It also provides CRSP/Compustat Merged Database, a database that simplifies matching COMPUSTAT financial data to the CRSP security price data.
  • CUSIP Master File
  • First Call and I/B/E/S-contain historical earnings estimates. FCHD contains earnings information dating as far back as 1990, on over 9,700 securities, including: 8,500 U.S. Securities 1,000 Canadian Securities 180 ADR's.
  • NYSE TAQ-database contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.
  • OptionMetrics-s a comprehensive source of historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. Encompassing more than six years of data, Ivy DB OptionMetrics contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.

In addition, some financial indexes and econometric databases are available at no cost to subscribers:

  • Bank Regulatory
  • Blockholders
  • CBOE Indexes
  • DMEF
  • Dow Jones
  • FDIC
  • Fama French, Momentum, and Liquidity
  • Federal Reserve Bank Reports
  • PHLX
  • Penn World Tables
  • SEC Disclosure of Order Execution
  • TRACE

WRDS is available on a cost-recovery subscription basis for non-College of Business and UIUC students, faculty and staff, and must be pre-approved for office accounts. Please e-mail Linda Kelley in the Research Bureau of the College of Business for account information.

(Note: Wording for databases borrowed from the Thomas J. Long Library at Berkeley.)

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBusiness and Economics Library
Contact Info:
101 Main Library
ph: 333-3619
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Economics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait