Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

New Product Marketing  Tags: business_and_economics products marketing new_product  

This web page has been created for Business Administration 365.
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/bel_newproduct  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Industry             Print Page
  
 

Need More Help?

The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.

 

BEL Homepage

BEL Homepage

Home

About Us

Key Databases

ABI/Inform

EBSCO BSC

EIU

Lexis Nexis

MarketLine

Mergent

OneSource

Small Business Resource Center

WDI Online

U of I Library

Library Gateway

Library Catalog

Online Research Resources

E-Reference

Interlibrary Loan

 
 

Encyclopedia of American Industries

Print
Q 338.097303 En19
BEL Reference

Covers over 1,000 manufacturing, service and non-manufacturing industries arranged by SIC codes. Includes industry snapshot, structure, current conditions, industry leaders, and suggestions for further readings. Some tables and graphs, along with alphabetical and SIC/NAICS conversion indexes. A more recent edition is available in the reference section of the Undergraduate Library.

 

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries

Print
Q 338.003 En192
BEL Reference

Covers more than 100 industries and sectors that show either recent growth or the potential for growth in the near future. Includes industry snapshot, structure, current conditions, industry leaders, and suggestions for further readings. Also available online through UIUC ORR collection.

 

Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258335

"FAITS reports are designed... to provide information about critical issues, emerging trends, products, services, and vendors driving the IT industry. Topical coverage areas include IT infastructure, telecommunications, wireless technology data networking, convergence, security, enterprise systems, the Internet, and technology vendors."

Database Help:

http://www.faulkner.com/products/faulknerlibrary/search.htm

 

Marketline

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258537

Provides "business information from around the world, across markets and inside companies." Products include: industry profiles offering standardized market data and competitive analysis, company profiles for 50,000 public and private companies giving detailed insight into how companies are organized and function, country profiles, Base Drivers Database featuring key macro-economic, social, demographic and industry statistics for 215 countries and live feed of news, comment and analysis to keep you fully up-to-date with all the latest business developments.

The Tools and Databases section (upper right corner) has a link to Value Consumer Markets. Retrieve data on Market Value, Market Volume, Company (Market) Share and Distribution (Channels) for beverages, food, household products, news and magazines, personal care, pet care, and tobacco, for multiple countries, from 1999 to 2011 (as of February 28, 2008).

 

First Research

Accessible from First Research:  http://uiuc.firstresearch-learn.com/default.aspx.

Provides industry profiles, which contain an industry overview, market trends, business challenges, financial information, and forecasts. Covers over 200 industries and is updated every 90 days.

 

IBISWorld

http://www.ibisworld.com.proxy2.library.uiuc.edu/launch.aspx

Contains market research reports on over 700 U.S. industries. Also contains industry risk ratings, global industry research, and company research on over 8,000 U.S. public companies.

 

Plunketts's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac 2000-2001

 

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=922179

Print
302.2302573 P742
2000/2001 edition at BEL Reference

2007 print edition at Communications Reference

Contains more than 400 major for-profit firms, occupations and careers, and emerging technologies within the American Entertainment & Media industry. Business growth trends are listed as well as the number of personnel working in each occupations, the average price of services, and the outlook for manufacturers of entertainment-related products.

 

Plunkett's Infotech Industry Almanac

UIUC Online Research Resources

EBSCO http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=312302

LexisNexis http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=922182

Provides information on major trends affecting the infotech industry and industry outlook.

 

Plunkett’s Renewable, Alternative & Hydrogen Energy Industry Almanac

 

Print
333.794025 P741 2004
BEL Reserves

Provides major trends affecting the renewable, alternative and hydrogen energy industry, statistics, and in-depth looks at 250 major firms in the field.

 

Plunkett's Retail Industry Almanac

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=922183

Contains overview of the retail industry, in-depth looks at major firms and careers in the field.

 

SIC & NAICS codes

http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html

http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

Print
338.0012 St242
(BEL Reserves)

A government tool that helps label products and industries. Enter industry or product type (not brand name). You may have to follow the broader categories, especially for industry overviews. NAICS is a new system meant to replace the SIC codes. Conversion between SIC and NAICS is available at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

 

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys

Print
658.05 ST
BEL Reserves

Published quarterly, the three-volume set covers 52 major industries. Topics include current industry environment, industry profile, glossary and industry publications and associations. Many charts and tables are included.  (Subscription ceased in 2007.)

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBusiness and Economics Library
Contact Info:
101 Main Library
ph: 333-3619
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Economics

 

Hours

 

Fall Semester 2009
August 24 - December 18

Mon - Thur 8:30am - 9:00pm
Fri
8:30am - 5:00pm

Sat  Closed

Sun 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Holidays (closed)

Monday, Sept 7
Sunday  Nov 22

Thur - Fri Nov 25-26


 



 
Description

  Loading content... please wait