Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Company Historical Research  Tags: business_and_economics company_history companies history  

This web page has been created for Business Administration 590.
Last update: Sep 11th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/bel_compresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Industry/Company Research             Print Page
  
 

Need More Help?

The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.

 

BEL Homepage

BEL Homepage

Home

About Us

Key Databases

ABI/Inform

EBSCO BSC

EIU

Lexis Nexis

MarketLine

Mergent

OneSource

Small Business Resource Center

WDI Online

U of I Library

Library Gateway

Library Catalog

Online Research Resources

E-Reference

Interlibrary Loan

 
 

Company annual reports

BEL Microform

Annual reports of some companies (especially in the 1960s and 1970s). Search the online catalog by company to find call numbers.

 

Corporate Affiliations

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=330822

Print
Q.658.16 D61
BEL Directory Table

Provides corporate linkage information on nearly 200,000 prominent corporations, including both pubic and private businesses throughout the world. Company records include data about corporate hierarchy, business descriptions, and current financial data. Commonly known as “Who Owns Whom" and also available in print.

Database Help:

http://www.corporateaffiliations.com/nonsub/aboutSearch.asp

 

Course of the Exchange (1689-1905)

BEL Microfilm

Offers stock and commodity prices at the London Stock Exchange starting from 1689. BEL has 1867-1908. 1689-1868 available at History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library.

 

Directory of Obsolete Securities

Print
Q. 332.632044 D598
BEL Stacks

Lists banks and companies who no longer issue stocks as results of bankruptcy, M&A, or dissolution.

 

Fisher Manuals of Valuable & Worthless Securities (1926 – 1957)

Print
338.7 M369
BEL Reference (1926-1940; 1971-1983)

Microform
FILM 338.7 M369
BEL Microform Cabinets (1926-1957)

Resource to trace back the value of old stock certificates.

 

International Directory of Company Histories

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=880715

Print
Q.338.7409 In8
BEL Reference

This multi-volume work is the first major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. Each three- to five-page entry is meticulously detailed with facts gathered from popular magazines, academic periodicals, books, annual reports and the archives of the companies themselves. Entries provide information on founders, expansions and losses, labor/management actions, NAIC codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, principal divisions, principal operating units, principal competitors and other significant milestones -- all peppered with statistics, dates and names of key players.

 

LexisNexis Academic Universe

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258213

Provides full text and abstracts of articles from over 40,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, wire services, trade journals, etc.

Database Help:

http://lexisnexis.com/tutorial/global/globaltutorial_frameset.asp?locale=en_US&lbu=US&adaptation=Academic&sPage=overview

 

Mergent

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=330410

Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data. Rich textual descriptions offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock.

Annual reports for most companies are available back to 1996.

 

Notable Corporate Chronologies

Print
Q. 338.7409 N843
BEL Reference

Provides significant events and dates for more than 1,800 companies. Information is accessible alphabetically by company name or in "Chronology Highlights" which provides an list of significant event by year.

 

SDC Platinum

Available in BEL computer lab only.

Includes detailed information about Mergers & Acquisition deals (as reported),  joint ventures, and global new issues, including IPO's. SDC Platinum requires a login. Please contact BEL staff to log you on.

Database Help:

http://www.library.illinois.edu/bel/tutorials/SDCGuide.pdf

 

Value Line Investment Summary

BEL Microforms

Offers description, risks, and outlook for public companies. BEL collection starts from 1980.

 

WRDS

The Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) resource consists of many datasets in the areas of accounting, economics and finance available in a web interface and can be downloaded into many formats, including SAS. The data are maintained and supported by Wharton staff. The datasets Illinois subscribes include the following:

  • Audit Analytics-Access detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Know who is auditing whom and how much they are paying for what services. Create reports by auditor, fees, location, industry, etc.
  • COMPUSTAT North America-database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 24,000 active and inactive publicly held companies from the past 20 years. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.
  • CRSP-maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases .It also provides CRSP/Compustat Merged Database, a database that simplifies matching COMPUSTAT financial data to the CRSP security price data.
  • CUSIP Master File
  • First Call and I/B/E/S-contain historical earnings estimates. FCHD contains earnings information dating as far back as 1990, on over 9,700 securities, including: 8,500 U.S. Securities 1,000 Canadian Securities 180 ADR's.
  • NYSE TAQ-database contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.
  • OptionMetrics-s a comprehensive source of historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. Encompassing more than six years of data, Ivy DB OptionMetrics contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.

In addition, some financial indexes and econometric databases are available at no cost to subscribers:

  • Bank Regulatory
  • Blockholders
  • CBOE Indexes
  • DMEF
  • Dow Jones
  • FDIC
  • Fama French, Momentum, and Liquidity
  • Federal Reserve Bank Reports
  • PHLX
  • Penn World Tables
  • SEC Disclosure of Order Execution
  • TRACE

WRDS is available on a cost-recovery subscription basis for non-College of Business and UIUC students, faculty and staff, and must be pre-approved for office accounts. Please e-mail Linda Kelley in the Research Bureau of the College of Business for account information.

(Note: Wording for databases borrowed from the Thomas J. Long Library at Berkeley.)

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBusiness and Economics Library
Contact Info:
101 Main Library
ph: 333-3619
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Economics

 

Hours

 

Fall Semester 2009
August 24 - December 18

Mon - Thur 8:30am - 9:00pm
Fri
8:30am - 5:00pm

Sat  Closed

Sun 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Holidays (closed)

Monday, Sept 7
Sunday  Nov 22

Thur - Fri Nov 25-26


 



 
Description

  Loading content... please wait