Need More Help?
The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.
BEL Homepage
American Generations: Who they are, how they live, and what they think
Print
381.3 M597o 2005
BEL Reference
Comparative data about the past five generations in the U.S. from World War II to the Millennial Generation. Provides information about attitudes, behavior, education, spending, and income. Includes brief descriptions of patterns or trends of different generations, and substantial statistics reflecting these patterns.
America's Top-Rated Cities
Print
317.3 Am353
BEL Reference
A 4-volume set divided to four geographic regions (southern, eastern, central and western) of statistical profiles of America's best cities with populations of 100,000 or more. Each profile includes background information, rankings, and statistical tables on population, income, employment, taxes, housing and real estate, transportation, business, cost of living, education, recreation, climate, media, air and water quality, etc.
Best Customers
Print
381.305 R912b 2005
2005 edition at BEL Reference
381.305 R912b 2006
2006 edition at Communications Reference
Provides information about the spending patterns of American households and covers hundreds of specific individual products and services in categories such as apparel, entertainment, healthcare, travel and more.
Household Spending: Who spends how much on what
Print
Q.339.47 H816 2005
2005 edition at BEL Reserves
Q. 339.47 H8162006a
2006 edition at Communications Reference
The data in Household Spending reveals how American households allocate their spending dollars. It contains a summary of household spending statistics, spending statistics organized by major product, service category, including all typical household expenditures.
Lifestyle Market Analyst
Print
658.8340973 L6261
BEL Reserves
(View sample pages here: http://www.srds.com/lma/SRDS_LMA_2006_sample.pdf.)
Lifestyle Market Analyst provides market analysis of potential local, regional and national audiences. " Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles help you locate your best prospects. You can identify where certain consumers live and how they spend their money and free time."
Passport Reference and Markets (formerly Global Market Information Database/ GMID)
UIUC Online Research Resources
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258366
Contains demographic, economic, and background marketing statistics for over 200 countries, as well as market and economic forecasts to the year 2010. GMID also contains major market reports and consumer lifestyle reports for countries from all over the globe.
To locate statistics, look under Search Industries (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the green toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.
Database Help:
http://www2.gmid.euromonitor.com/PDFs/GettingStartedGMIDv3.pdf
SimplyMap
UIUC Online Research Resources
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=770081
SimplyMap provides data for all geographies include census block-groups, census tracts, ZIP codes, cities, counties, states, and the entire United States.
- Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more.
- Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections.
- Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments.
(From http://www.geographicresearch.com/simplymap.html, accessed April 10, 2008)
Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Print
317 Un3s
(BEL Reserves)
Provides an overview of statistics collected by the federal government and public and private organizations on social and economic conditions in the United States. Supplies tables of demographic data, industry statistics (divided into sections including agriculture, finance, technology, transportation, and services), labor statistics, and a summary of the latest economic census.
Statistical Universe
UIUC Online Research Resources
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258185
Provides references to statistical publications issued by federal and state governments, commercial publishers, trade and professional organizations, etc. A good place to start if you need statistical information but don't know where to look.
Database Help:
U.S. Census Bureau
The ultimate place to find comprehensive and detailed demographic information on the United States. Now includes Census 2000 data. Pay attention to the browsable index "Subjects A to Z" and the categories on the home page. "American FactFinder" offers detailed demographic information on state, county, and city levels.
Subject Guide |
Business and Economics LibraryHours
Fall Semester 2009
August 24 - December 18
Mon - Thur 8:30am - 9:00pm
Fri 8:30am - 5:00pm
Sat Closed
Sun 1:00pm - 9:00pm
Holidays (closed)
Monday, Sept 7
Sunday Nov 22
Thur - Fri Nov 25-26
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait