Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business Policy and Strategy  Tags: business_and_economics business_policy_and_strategy industries  

This guide has been created for Business Administration 449.
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/bel_buspolstrat  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Industry/Company Research             Print Page
  
 

Need More Help?

The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.

 

BEL Homepage

BEL Homepage

Home

About Us

Key Databases

ABI/Inform

EBSCO BSC

EIU

Lexis Nexis

MarketLine

Mergent

OneSource

Small Business Resource Center

WDI Online

U of I Library

Library Gateway

Library Catalog

Online Research Resources

E-Reference

Interlibrary Loan

 
 

Business Insights (formerly Reuters Business Insight)

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258324

Features detailed, comprehensive market research reports in the fields of consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare and technology. Business Insight also contains the latest news and press releases issued by Business Insight industry specialists with respect to the above fields. Check out Interactive Reports for customizable market research reports (translations in foreign languages available).

Database Help:

http://www.globalbusinessinsights.com/rbi/help.asp

 

Encyclopedia of American Industries

Print
Q 338.097303 En19
BEL Reference

Covers over 1,000 manufacturing, service and non-manufacturing industries arranged by SIC codes. Includes industry snapshot, structure, current conditions, industry leaders, and suggestions for further readings. Some tables and graphs, along with alphabetical and SIC/NAICS conversion indexes. A more recent edition is available in the reference section of the Undergraduate Library.

 

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries

Print
Q 338.003 En192
BEL Reference

Covers more than 100 industries and sectors that show either recent growth or the potential for growth in the near future. Includes industry snapshot, structure, current conditions, industry leaders, and suggestions for further readings. Also available online through UIUC ORR collection.

 

First Research

Accessible from First Research:  http://uiuc.firstresearch-learn.com/default.aspx.

Provides industry profiles, which contain an industry overview, market trends, business challenges, financial information, and forecasts. Covers over 200 industries and is updated every 90 days.

 

Frost & Sullivan

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=339180

Provides full text comprehensive research reports and concise market insight on emerging high-technology and industrial markets in 50 countries. A typical research report includes market overview, drivers, restraints, forecasts and trends, competitive analysis, etc. Searchable by market, technology, region, or keywords.

Note: Search this database with the IE Browser only.

Database Help:

http://www.frost.com/prod/servlet/help.pag

 

IBISWorld

http://www.ibisworld.com.proxy2.library.uiuc.edu/launch.aspx

Contains market research reports on over 700 U.S. industries. Also contains industry risk ratings, global industry research, and company research on over 8,000 U.S. public companies.

 

ISI Emerging Markets

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258319

It delivers hard-to-get information on more than 80 emerging markets through its award-winning online Emerging Markets Information Service. It aggregates and produces unique content including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 13,000 local and global publications.

Select a country. Then click on Macroeconomics in the toolbar and scroll to Macroeconomic Focus and Consensus Forecast.

 

Marketline

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258537

Provides "business information from around the world, across markets and inside companies." Products include: industry profiles offering standardized market data and competitive analysis, company profiles for 50,000 public and private companies giving detailed insight into how companies are organized and function, country profiles, Base Drivers Database featuring key macro-economic, social, demographic and industry statistics for 215 countries and live feed of news, comment and analysis to keep you fully up-to-date with all the latest business developments.

The Tools and Databases section (upper right corner) has a link to Value Consumer Markets. Retrieve data on Market Value, Market Volume, Company (Market) Share and Distribution (Channels) for beverages, food, household products, news and magazines, personal care, pet care, and tobacco, for multiple countries, from 1999 to 2011 (as of February 28, 2008).

 

Mergent Horizon (new!)

http://www.mergenthorizon.com.proxy2.library.uiuc.edu/rp/xa/uhome

Mergent Horizon is a filtering front end of 6200 companies from the various exchanges in ferreting out information when performing competitive analyses about companies and industries. Capabilities include:

* Identifying companies simply by entering a product or trade name
* Highlighting the relationships between a company's major customers, suppliers and partners
* Analyzing data for sector aggregates or averages, as well as for individual companies
* Screening companies with hundreds of quantitative and qualitative fields and custom formulas
* Creating reports including Company Profiles, Competitors by Product, and Drug/Medical Device
* Reporting of Events Calendar including earnings reports and FDA meetings

Mergent Horizon is highly recommended for projects related to compeitive intelligence on B to B marketing and industrial distribution. Urbana campus users only and six researchers may use it at a time.

 

Mintel

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=247372

Provides consumer market reports including information on consumer trends and recent market developments. Also provides current news articles on related market activity.

 

OneSource

Through the College of Business:

http://www.business.uiuc.edu/intranet/one_source.html

An excellent one-stop place for company and market information. For companies, it has detailed descriptions, current financial data and news stories. For industries, it has market research reports, news, etc. Available to UIUC affiliates only. You must register for a free account and after that it can be accessible from anywhere.

 

SIC & NAICS codes

http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html

http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

Print
338.0012 St242
(BEL Reserves)

A government tool that helps label products and industries. Enter industry or product type (not brand name). You may have to follow the broader categories, especially for industry overviews. NAICS is a new system meant to replace the SIC codes. Conversion between SIC and NAICS is available at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

 

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys

Print
658.05 ST
BEL Reserves

Published quarterly, the three-volume set covers 52 major industries. Topics include current industry environment, industry profile, glossary and industry publications and associations. Many charts and tables are included.  (Subscription ceased in 2007.)

 

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers

http://www.thomasnet.com/ (Online version)

Print
Q.670 T36
(BEL Reference)

Includes a list of American manufacturers, their major products, and contact information. Useful for looking for competitors and their products. The web version is free, but you may register online for additional search benefits.

 

U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook

Print
338.5 Un48u1a
BEL Reserves

Includes over 50 chapters providing industry reviews and forecasts for manufacturing, information, consumer, health care, and financial sectors. More objective in analysis, but major industry players have been omitted.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBusiness and Economics Library
Contact Info:
101 Main Library
ph: 333-3619
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Economics

 

Hours

 

Fall Semester 2009
August 24 - December 18

Mon - Thur 8:30am - 9:00pm
Fri
8:30am - 5:00pm

Sat  Closed

Sun 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Holidays (closed)

Monday, Sept 7
Sunday  Nov 22

Thur - Fri Nov 25-26


 



 
Description

  Loading content... please wait