Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

European Economies  Tags: business_and_economics europe economics  

This web page has been created for Economics 422.
Last update: Sep 11th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/bel_euroecon  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Country Information             Print Page
  
 

Need More Help?

The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.

 

BEL Homepage

BEL Homepage

Home

About Us

Key Databases

ABI/Inform

EBSCO BSC

EIU

Lexis Nexis

MarketLine

Mergent

OneSource

Small Business Resource Center

WDI Online

U of I Library

Library Gateway

Library Catalog

Online Research Resources

E-Reference

Interlibrary Loan

 
 

BISNIS

http://www.bisnis.doc.gov/BISNIS/new_bisnis.cfm

"BISNIS is the U.S. Government's primary market information center for U.S. companies exploring export and investment opportunities in Russia and Eurasia. BISNIS provides U.S. companies with the latest market reports and tips on developments, export and investment leads, and strategies for doing business in Russia and Eurasia. Since opening in 1992, BISNIS has facilitated more than $4.0 billion worth of U.S. exports and overseas investments."

 

Corporate Affiliations

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=330822

Print
Q.658.16 D61
BEL Directory Table

Provides corporate linkage information on nearly 200,000 prominent corporations, including both pubic and private businesses throughout the world. Company records include data about corporate hierarchy, business descriptions, and current financial data. Commonly known as “Who Owns Whom" and also available in print.

Database Help:

http://www.corporateaffiliations.com/nonsub/aboutSearch.asp

 

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices

http://www.state.gov/www/issues/economic/trade_reports/index.html

Issued by the U.S. Department of State. The reports, available from 1993 to 2001, provide comprehensive analysis of economic policies and trade practices of countries (The reports were abolished in 2002).

 

EIU Country Intelligence

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258368

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides quarterly analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Included in each country report is a detailed review and analysis of political and economic events, a compilation of the latest economic indicators as well as a 12-24 month political outlook and economic projection. Annual Country Profiles include statistical tables covering five years of the main macroeconomic indicators. Risk Ratings Review offers country risk ratings based on political, economic, and social policies and practices.

Basic Database Help:

http://www.eiu.com/site_info.asp?info_name=EIUsearch

Advanced Database Help:

http://www.eiu.com/site_info.asp?info_name=EIUhelp

 

Euromoney

UIUC Online Research Resources

ProQuest ABI-INFORM Complete (01/1991-Present) http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=79599

Ebsco (07/1998-Present with a 1 month delay) http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=79575

Similar to Business Week, but with an international focus, Euromoney is a financial magazine that covers companies and economic situations around the world. The Regions and Countries area of the web site is a good place to find recent articles on events and issues in particular countries, but to search there, you must first apply for a user name and password. Each September the magazine publishes a list of the world's countries ranked by level of risk. This list is particularly useful because it identifies and defines key components of risk.

 

GLOBUS & National Trade Databank (NTDB) via STAT-USA

UIUC Online Research Resources - For use in Government Documents Library only.

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/notespopup.php?instid=258299

Provides current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, and country analysis. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, best Market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade. All are full text searchable, as well as keyword searchable by country or product.

Database Help:

http://www.stat-usa.gov/hometest.nsf/ref/sitemap

 

ISI Emerging Markets

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258319

It delivers hard-to-get information on more than 80 emerging markets through its award-winning online Emerging Markets Information Service. It aggregates and produces unique content including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 13,000 local and global publications.

Select a country. Then click on Macroeconomics in the toolbar and scroll to Macroeconomic Focus and Consensus Forecast.

 

Source OECD

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://oberon.sourceoecd.org/vl=1169262/cl=17/nw=1/rpsv/home.htm

Furnishes statistics, papers, and selected special reports on the member countries of OECD; covers various aspects of economies including education, economy, infrastructure, and trade.

Basic Database Help:

http://new.sourceoecd.org/upload/getting_online_access.pdf

Advanced Database Help:

http://masetto.sourceoecd.org/vl=4160325/cl=11/nw=1/rpsv/userguide/userguide.htm

 

Oxford Analytica (Internationalaffairs.com)

http://www.oxan.com/

Oxford Analytica is a directory of over 12,000 web sites that relate to international relations and global economies. The site maintains links to journals, organizations and government resources that provide information on economic data, demographics, governments and maps. This information is provided by topic, region and country. Oxford Analytica is an international, independent consulting firm drawing on a network of over 1,000 senior faculty members at Oxford and other major universities and research institutions around the world.

 

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=35263

WDI Online offers the World Bank's comprehensive database on development data. The extensive collection of development data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (1960 to present, where data available). The data can be downloaded into spreadsheets.

Database Help from BEL:

http://www.library.illinois.edu/bel/classes/wdi/

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBusiness and Economics Library
Contact Info:
101 Main Library
ph: 333-3619
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Economics

 

Hours

 

Fall Semester 2009
August 24 - December 18

Mon - Thur 8:30am - 9:00pm
Fri
8:30am - 5:00pm

Sat  Closed

Sun 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Holidays (closed)

Monday, Sept 7
Sunday  Nov 22

Thur - Fri Nov 25-26


 



 
Description

  Loading content... please wait