Need More Help?
The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.
BEL Homepage
BISNIS
http://www.bisnis.doc.gov/BISNIS/new_bisnis.cfm
"BISNIS is the U.S. Government's primary market information center for U.S. companies exploring export and investment opportunities in Russia and Eurasia. BISNIS provides U.S. companies with the latest market reports and tips on developments, export and investment leads, and strategies for doing business in Russia and Eurasia. Since opening in 1992, BISNIS has facilitated more than $4.0 billion worth of U.S. exports and overseas investments."
Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices
http://www.state.gov/www/issues/economic/trade_reports/index.html
Issued by the U.S. Department of State. The reports, available from 1993 to 2001, provide comprehensive analysis of economic policies and trade practices of countries (The reports were abolished in 2002).
EIU Country Intelligence
UIUC Online Research Resources
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258368
The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides quarterly analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Included in each country report is a detailed review and analysis of political and economic events, a compilation of the latest economic indicators as well as a 12-24 month political outlook and economic projection. Annual Country Profiles include statistical tables covering five years of the main macroeconomic indicators. Risk Ratings Review offers country risk ratings based on political, economic, and social policies and practices.
Basic Database Help:
http://www.eiu.com/site_info.asp?info_name=EIUsearch
Advanced Database Help:
Euromoney
UIUC Online Research Resources
ProQuest ABI-INFORM Complete (01/1991-Present) http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=79599
Ebsco (07/1998-Present with a 1 month delay) http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=79575
Similar to Business Week, but with an international focus, Euromoney is a financial magazine that covers companies and economic situations around the world. The Regions and Countries area of the web site is a good place to find recent articles on events and issues in particular countries, but to search there, you must first apply for a user name and password. Each September the magazine publishes a list of the world's countries ranked by level of risk. This list is particularly useful because it identifies and defines key components of risk.
IFS (International Financial Statistics) Online
UIUC Online Research Resources
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258511
International Financial Statistics Online has time-series data for more than 200 countries and areas, exchange rates and fund position for member countries as well as information about national accounts, interest rates, inflation, etc. Maintained by the International Monetary Fund.
For definitions of data terms, see Manuals and Guides here:
http://www.imf.org/external/data.htm#guide
Database Help:
http://www.imfstatistics.org/imf/help/Ifshelp.htm
Database Help from BEL:
IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook
Print
Q337.021 W893
BEL Reserves
Provides a multi-dimensional approach to benchmark a country's performance to global economies. Analyzes and ranks each nation's ability to provide an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. Divided into four main categories: Economic Performance, Government Efficiency, Business Efficiency, and Infrastructure. Helpful graphs show rankings in terms of population, GDP, and region. Detailed explanation of methods is provided.
ISI Emerging Markets
UIUC Online Research Resources
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258319
It delivers hard-to-get information on more than 80 emerging markets through its award-winning online Emerging Markets Information Service. It aggregates and produces unique content including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 13,000 local and global publications.
Select a country. Then click on Macroeconomics in the toolbar and scroll to Macroeconomic Focus and Consensus Forecast.
Passport Reference and Markets (formerly Global Market Information Database/ GMID)
UIUC Online Research Resources
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258366
Contains demographic, economic, and background marketing statistics for over 200 countries, as well as market and economic forecasts to the year 2010. GMID also contains major market reports and consumer lifestyle reports for countries from all over the globe.
To locate statistics, look under Search Industries (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the green toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.
Database Help:
http://www2.gmid.euromonitor.com/PDFs/GettingStartedGMIDv3.pdf
Political Risk Yearbook
UIUC Online Research Resources
The Political Risk Yearbook monitors the risks to international business over the next five years. Published annually in January, every report is updated each year to include the latest report for each country.
Source OECD
UIUC Online Research Resources
http://oberon.sourceoecd.org/vl=1169262/cl=17/nw=1/rpsv/home.htm
Furnishes statistics, papers, and selected special reports on the member countries of OECD; covers various aspects of economies including education, economy, infrastructure, and trade.
Basic Database Help:
http://new.sourceoecd.org/upload/getting_online_access.pdf
Advanced Database Help:
http://masetto.sourceoecd.org/vl=4160325/cl=11/nw=1/rpsv/userguide/userguide.htm
Subject Guide |
Business and Economics LibraryHours
Fall Semester 2009
August 24 - December 18
Mon - Thur 8:30am - 9:00pm
Fri 8:30am - 5:00pm
Sat Closed
Sun 1:00pm - 9:00pm
Holidays (closed)
Monday, Sept 7
Sunday Nov 22
Thur - Fri Nov 25-26
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait