Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business Technical Writing  Tags: business_and_economics business_technical_writing writing  

This web page has been created for Business Technical Writing 250.
Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/bel_techwrite  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Consumer Information             Print Page
  
 

Need More Help?

The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.

 

BEL Homepage

BEL Homepage

Home

About Us

Key Databases

ABI/Inform

EBSCO BSC

EIU

Lexis Nexis

MarketLine

Mergent

OneSource

Small Business Resource Center

WDI Online

U of I Library

Library Gateway

Library Catalog

Online Research Resources

E-Reference

Interlibrary Loan

 
 

CensusScope

http://www.censusscope.org/

CensusScope, developed by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan, is an tool to assist researchers investigate U.S. demographic trends. Easy-to-use graphics and exportable data provides information to generalists and specialists.

 

Claritas: My Best Segments Market Segmentation Tool

http://www.claritas.com/MyBestSegments/Default.jsp

Provides "accurate, up-to-date demographic data and target marketing information about the population, consumer behavior, consumer spending, households and businesses within any specific geographic market area in the United States...MyBestSegments is the only source for detailed segment description for all of Claritas' segmentation products."

 

Household Spending: Who spends how much on what

Print
Q.339.47 H816 2005
2005 edition at BEL Reserves

Q. 339.47 H8162006a
2006 edition at Communications Reference

The data in Household Spending reveals how American households allocate their spending dollars. It contains a summary of household spending statistics, spending statistics organized by major product, service category, including all typical household expenditures.

 

Lifestyle Market Analyst

Print
658.8340973 L6261
BEL Reserves

(View sample pages here: http://www.srds.com/lma/SRDS_LMA_2006_sample.pdf.)

Lifestyle Market Analyst provides market analysis of potential local, regional and national audiences. " Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles help you locate your best prospects. You can identify where certain consumers live and how they spend their money and free time."

 

Mintel

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=247372

Provides consumer market reports including information on consumer trends and recent market developments. Also provides current news articles on related market activity.

 

Passport Reference and Markets (formerly Global Market Information Database/ GMID)

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258366

Contains demographic, economic, and background marketing statistics for over 200 countries, as well as market and economic forecasts to the year 2010. GMID also contains major market reports and consumer lifestyle reports for countries from all over the globe.

To locate statistics, look under Search Industries (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the green toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.


Database Help:

http://www2.gmid.euromonitor.com/PDFs/GettingStartedGMIDv3.pdf

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States

http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/

Print
317 Un3s
(BEL Reserves)

Provides an overview of statistics collected by the federal government and public and private organizations on social and economic conditions in the United States. Supplies tables of demographic data, industry statistics (divided into sections including agriculture, finance, technology, transportation, and services), labor statistics, and a summary of the latest economic census.

 

U.S. Census Bureau

http://www.census.gov/

The ultimate place to find comprehensive and detailed demographic information on the United States. Now includes Census 2000 data. Pay attention to the browsable index "Subjects A to Z" and the categories on the home page. "American FactFinder" offers detailed demographic information on state, county, and city levels.

 

West Group Market Segmentation Analysis

http://www.westgroupresearch.com/research/segmentation.html

Provides a useful overview of what market segmentation analysis is and also what it offers.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBusiness and Economics Library
Contact Info:
101 Main Library
ph: 333-3619
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Economics

 

Hours

 

Fall Semester 2009
August 24 - December 18

Mon - Thur 8:30am - 9:00pm
Fri
8:30am - 5:00pm

Sat  Closed

Sun 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Holidays (closed)

Monday, Sept 7
Sunday  Nov 22

Thur - Fri Nov 25-26


 



 
Description

  Loading content... please wait