On This Page
Guides to Information on Africa on the Internet.
Restricted Access Databases
The source listed below requires University of Illinois affiliation or use of University Library computers for access.
- African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources A source guide and directory with bibliographic references and index. Includes print and online resources, websites, publishers and book dealers. From Hans Zell Publishers.
Academic Portals
- Africa South of the Sahara "Selected Internet resources by country/region and topics. Offers, amongst others, links to a lot of primary sources (full text)." Produced by Karen Fung at Stanford University.
- Africa Web Links: an Annotated Resource List This guide, created by Ali B. Ali-Dinar at the African Studies Center of the University of Pennsylvania lists links by topic.
- African Studies Internet Resources Portal compiled by Yusuuf Caruso at Columbia University. Of special note is the International Directory of African Studies Scholars database.
- Africana Studies Internet Links Compiled by Tom Weissinger at the African-American Research Center of the University of Illinois Main Library.
- Aluka A digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. Current offerings include sections on African cultural heritage sites and landscapes, African plants, and struggles for freedom in Southern Africa.
- An A-Z of African Studies on the Internet "A Directory of Africa & African Studies" created by Peter Limb and Ibra Sene at Michigan State University. "This guide encompasses Internet sites, discussion lists and any other e-resources of relevance to Africa or African studies."
- A Guide to Africa on the Internet: Selected Information Sources and Databases Various links sorted either by country/region or by topic. resources compiled by Håkan Gidlöf at The Nordic Africa Institute in Uppsala, Sweden.
- Habari, le portail internet des études africaines From the Centre d'Etude d'Afrique Noire in Bordeaux, France. In French. Lists an impressive number of links per topic.
- The Index on Africa Produced by the Norwegian Council for Africa. Provides access to over 4,000 websites that cover very diverse topics.
- Nordic Documentation of the liberation Struggle in Southern Africa A reference source that documents the role of the Nordic Countries in the struggles for liberation in Southern Africa during the late 20th century.
- World Digital Library A Project of UNESCO. From the website: "The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world." Over 200 items from Africa.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait