Africa-wide Country InformationAlgeriaAngolaBeninBotswanaBurkina FasoBurundiCameroonCape VerdeCentral African RepublicChadComorosCongoCote d'IvoireDemocratic Republic of the CongoDjiboutiEgyptEquatorial GuineaEritreaEthiopiaGabonGambiaGhanaGuineaGuinea-BissauKenyaLesothoLiberiaLibya
Africa-wide Country InformationMadagascarMalawiMaliMauritaniaMauritiusMoroccoMozambiqueNamibiaNigerNigeriaRwandaSao Tome and PrincipeSenegalSeychellesSierra LeoneSomaliaSouth AfricaSudanSwazilandTanzaniaTogoTunisiaUgandaZambiaZimbabwe
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

African Studies Internet Portal 

An Internet Research Portal produced by the Africana Library at the University of Illinois.
Last update: Oct 20th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/africa-research-links  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Music            Print Page
  
 

On This Page

This page covers African Music.

Databases

The sources listed below require University of Illinois affiliation or use of University Library computers for access.

 

Music

  • Afribeat  
    "an online journal for African music that promotes independence and cultural authenticity. It is a collection of music, musicians, literature, oral and written history/philosophy. Founded in 2000."
  • Africa Hit Music TV  
    African Entertainment website with music news and music videos. Site is mainly in French with some content in English.
  • Les Africains de la chanson francophone  
    In French. Innovative, interactive site that requires installation of the Flash Player.
  • Africa South of the Sahara: Radio Stations and Radio in Africa  
    Indepth portal from Stanford University
  • African Hip Hop  
    In-depth blog posts with videos and news from diverse artists around Africa.
  • African Music Archive  
    German site with some material in English.
  • African Music Encyclopedia  
    Music from Africa and from the diaspora.
  • Afropop  
    Afropop is a radio program, a web site, a searchable database, an international musical archive, a team of researchers, and a travel series to Africa and Latin America. It focuses on African and African Diaspora music.
  • AllAfrica.com- Music  
    Articles on music from African news sources.
  • British Library Sound Archive  
    The British Library Sound Archive holds many sound and video recordings, with over a million discs and thousands of tapes. Includes recordings made in Africa and a searchable catalog.
  • Global Music Archive  
    A multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americans. Its Digital Collection of East African Recordings consists of over 2,000 discrete musical performances.
  • Indiana University Archives of Traditional Music  
    "Largest university-based ethnographic sound archives in the United States. Its holdings include commercial and field recordings of vocal and instrumental music, folktales, interviews and oral history, as well as videotapes, photographs and manuscripts."
  • International Library of African Music  
    A research institution devoted to the study of music and oral arts in Africa, it preserves thousands of historical recordings going back to 1929 and supports contemporary fieldwork. It is currently digitizing its collections.
  • World Music Network  
    In-depth coverage of world music. Includes news, video and radio, and a store for purchasing world music.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageAfricana Library
Contact Info:
425 Library, Modern Languages and Linguistics Library

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait