On This Page
This page contains business and trade information related to Africa.
- Business
- Trade
- Statistics
- Restricted Access Databases
- Databases and Tools
- Country Information (On the website of the Center for African Studies at the University of Illinois.)
Restricted Access Databases
The database listed below requires University of Illinois affiliation or use of University Library computers for access.
Databases and Tools
- Oanda Currency Converter Currency Converter for 164 Currencies
- Trade and Environment Database American University
Business
- Africa Business Information Services (AfBIS) Provides "reliable information on African countries, including economic and political profiles, sector reports, trade data, profiles of key personalities and details of investment and trade opportunities."
- African Stock Exchanges
- AllAfrica -Business Business news from African sources.
- Business Action for Africa "An international network of businesses and business organisations [ ... that works]: to positively influence policies needed for growth and poverty reduction, to promote a more balanced view of Africa, to develop good business practices."
- Center for International Private Enterprise "Strengthens democracy around the globe through private enterprise and market-oriented reform. CIPE is one of the four core institutes of the National Endowment for Democracy and a non-profit affiliate of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce."
- Corporate Council on Africa Established in 1993. [...] CCA works closely with governments, multilateral groups and business to improve the African continet's trade and investment climate, and to raise the profile of Africa in the US business community.
- Country Indicatiors for Foreign Policy (CIFP) - Carleton University
- Illinois-Africa Business Outreach A project of the University of Illinois Center for African Studies.
- International Chambers of Commerce - National Committees, Africa Contact information for the national committees of several African nations that participate in the International Chambers of Commerce.
- International Finance Corporation- Sub-Saharan Africa "Fosters sustainable economic growth in developing countries by financing private sector investment, mobilizing capital in the international financial markets, and providing advisory services to businesses and governments." Also does work in North Africa
- Transparency International Works to expose and make transparent corruption in international business practices. Has a section on Africa.
- US State Department Country Commercial Guides A database of guides. Search in "region" for Africa or for African regions. Search in "country" for African countries.
- World Bank- Doing Business A project of the World Bank that "provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level." Includes information on specific African countries.
Trade
- Africa Trade Consultants Network
- Global Exchange Fair Trade Stores Online store of a fair trade crafts store in San Francisco that sells items from Africa. Site also features educational materials on global trade related issues.
- International Trade Centre Project of the United Nations and the World Trade Organization. Highlights the work and programs of the ITC and provides trade information and statistics for individual countries.
- South-South Trade Promotion Programme A program of the International Trade Centre of the UNCTAD and the WTO that is "aimed at generating new trade and investment transactions between enterprises in developing countries and transition economies."
- Trade and Environment Database American University
- US Commerce Department Exports.gov Helps US Companies do business in Africa.
International Trade Administration
Market Access and Compliance.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait