Country Specific Organizations
ALL COUNTRIES
- Amnesty International Country Reports
Annual report on human rights in each country studied by Amnesty International. - Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
U.S. Department of State reports and assessment of human rights and legal environments in African countries.
ARRANGED BY COUNTRY
- Eritrean Movement for Democracy and Human Rights "A non-violent and autonomous, non-for-profit, civic movement that strives for the promotion of human and democratic rights in Eritrea." Founded in December 2003 by Eritrean students and exiles in Pretoria, South Africa.
- International Commission of Jurists - Kenyan Section "ICJ Kenya is a National Section of the International Commission of Jurists based in Nairobi, Kenya. Over 300 jurists members comprise the organization which is dedicated to the legal protection of human rights in Kenya."
- Kenya Human Rights Commission "A non-partisan, non-profit making, membership non-governmental organization based in Nairobi." Website contains programs and publications.
- MaliWatch Focuses on Mali. Promotes civic education to promote popular understanding of laws and legal processes; to consolidate pluralist democracy; and to promote decentralized socio-economic development efforts.
- National Society for Human Rights (Namibia) "A Private, non-profit, non-partisan and para-legal human rights monitoring and advocacy organization in Namibia."
- Nigerian Center for Gender, Health and Human Rights (NCGHHR) "The foremost center to focus on gender, health and human rights, and combines strong commitment to service and advocacy with Human rights education in Nigeria and the sub-Saharan region of Africa. NCGHHR is a non-profit, non-governmental organization."
- Remember Ken Saro-Wiwa: Nigeria "Remember Saro-Wiwa is a coalition of UK-based organisations and individuals encompassing the arts and literature, human rights and environmental and development issues. "
- International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (Arusha, Tanzania) Official site of the tribunal. Provides biographies of the judges, press releases, full text of judgments, photographs, reports, and other primary sources.
- Special Court for Sierra Leone Institution established by a treaty agreement between the United Nations and Sierra Leone that tries crimes against humanity and human rights that occurred during the Civil War in Sierra Leone. Site includes may primary sources.
- Lawyers for Human Rights (South Africa) An independent human rights organisation with a thirty-year track record of human rights activism and public interest litigation in South Africa. LHR provides free legal services to poor and indigent people from six law clinics around the country.
- South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC) Promotes adherence to human rights in South Africa through public education, policy initiatives, and investigations of specific human rights abuse cases.
- Truth and Reconciliation Commission (South Africa) Official Website from the South Africa Department of Justice. Includes the final report of the Commission along with other reports, documents and assorted primary sources.
- Justice Africa Sudan A branch of the Justice Africa organization that deals specifically with the Sudan and Darfur. Highlights current publications and articles on the region.
- Sudan Organisation Against Torture (SOAT) Works to prevent torture and to "challenge the impunity of perpetrators of human rights abuses." Focuses on issues of torture in the Sudan, rehabilitates survivors and provides legal assistance and publications on related issues.
- Maghrebines (Tunisia) Hosted by Maghrebines and Euro-Maghrebines.
- Foundation for Human Rights Initiative (Uganda) "An independent, non-profit organization committed to the protection and promotion of human rights and democracy in Uganda." based in Kampala, Uganda.
- Legal Resources Foundation of Zambia NGO that provides "legal aid, promoting human rights and litigating in the public interest. It functions in areas which directly affect disadvantaged sectors of society in relation to violations of their fundamental rights and the enhancement of Justice.
- Women and Men of Zimbabwe Arise, (WOZA) Formed in 2003 as a women's movement, WOZA has grown into a national organization of women and men. Focus is on empowering and encouraging men and women to raise their voices and speak out against injustices.
- Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights Law organization in Zimbabwe with an objective "to foster a culture of human rights in Zimbabwe as well as encourage the growth and strengthening of human rights at all levels of Zimbabwean society through observance of the rule of law."
Legal Resources
- American Society of International Law Organization with resources on human rights including an in-depth Annotated Bibliography, and other material applicable to Africa and to African Studies.
- Constitution Finder A project of the University of Richmond. Includes texts of constitutions from around the world, including many the constitutions of African countries.
- Guide to Law Online Prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division. An annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
- Human Rights Treaties and Conventions From the Multilaterals Project of the Fletcher School at Tufts University.
Africa-Specific Organizations
- Africa Action
Africa Action is the oldest US-based organization that focuses on African Affairs. Work areas include all current issues facing Africa. Links to Africa Action's human rights information can be found by clicking the circle next to the link above. - African Centre for Democracy and Human Rights Studies A pan-African, independent international NGO established in 1989 to support the OAU African Charter on Human and People's Rights. Has full text documents, publishes a newsletter, civic education posters, reports, etc. Based in the Gambia.
- African Centre for the Constructive Resolution of Disputes (ACCORD) A conflict-resolution and leadership training and research-focused South African NGO with Africa-wide programming.
- African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights Established by the former Organization of African Unity. "Is charged with ensuring the promotion and protection of Human and Peoples' Rights throughout the African Continent." Has many useful documents and resources. In English and French.
- African Faith and Justice Network Works closely with Catholic missionary congregations and numerous Africa-focused coalitions of all persuasions to advocate for economic and political policies that will benefit Africa.
- African Human Rights and Development Network (AfroNet) An NGO that has observer status with the African Commission on Human and People's Rights. Focuses on the enhancement of human rights practices in Africa by promoting networking, co-operation, organization, and participation.
- African Human Rights Resource Center
Links to a wide range of resources including international human rights instruments; governmental and non-governmental human rights organizations; resources on economic, social, and cultural rights; and human rights bibliographies focusing on Africa. - African Peace Information Locator From the University of Iowa Libraries. The African Peace Information Locator contains links to information on African peace and conflict resolution at all levels of complexity and in all formats.
- Association of Concerned Africa Scholars An organization of scholars concerned with the policies of the United States Government and other governing bodies towards Africa.
- Electoral Institute of Southern Africa Promotes Credible Elections and Democratic Governance in Africa.
- Justice Africa "Advocacy organization and research institute founded in 1999 in London to campaign for human rights and social justice across Africa." Site includes current publications and highlights programs run by the organization.
- Kabissa Believes that Information Communication Technologies (ICTs) are a revolutionary force in civil society.
- Netherlands Institute for Southern Africa (NIZA) Declares solidarity with the 'ordinary' people of southern Africa. Niza works to find structural solutions in the fight against poverty, injustice and inequality. (SITE IN DUTCH)
- Southern Africa Exchange Program on Environmental Justice Boston-based non-profit that focuses on environmental issues and issues of environmental justice in Southern Africa.
- The Africa Governance, Monitoring and Advocacy Project (AfriMAP) From the Open Society Institute
- The Commission for Gender Equality Advocates for and works on issues of gender equality in Southern and South Africa.
United Nations System
- International Criminal Court Link leads to a link for the International Criminal Court and to a link for the Rome Statue of the International Criminal Court, the treaty that lead to the establishment of said court.
- International Labour Organization A UN agency that seeks the promotion of social justice and internationally recognized human and labor rights. Many Africa-focused documents available at this link.
- Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights The United Nations office with primary responsibility for promoting and protecting the enjoyment and full realization of human rights for all.
- United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) Focuses on the rights and well-being of children around the world. Large focus on Africa. Links of interest include Speak Africa and Impact of Armed Conflict on Children.
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) The agency is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide. Its primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees.
- United Nations: Human Rights Covers UN human rights-related organizations and diverse topical coverage of human rights. Highlights include information on the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR).
Major International NGOs
- American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) AAAS promotes using science for the public good. Links of interest include Science and Human Rights, and an investigation of health care sector abuses in South Africa.
- Amnesty International Includes links to other human rights sites by subject and contains a section with publications and news releases on Africa. Amnesty International Library is also of interest.
- Article 19, the International Centre against Censorship Name from Article 19 of the UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Specific mandate is to defend and promote freedom of expression and freedom of the press worldwide. Africa Section
- Carnegie Commission on Preventing Deadly Conflict
Works to prevent deadly ethnic, nationalist, and religious conflicts within and between states by promoting research and thinking centered on determining the circumstances and types of social mechanisms that foster or deter their outbreak. - The Carter Center The Carter Center, in partnership with Emory University, is committed to advancing human rights and alleviating unnecessary human suffering.
- Committee to Protect Journalists A nonpartisan nonprofit that protects the human rights of individual journalists and promotes principles of press freedom around the world. Has a specific Africa section.
- Derechos Human Rights An Internet-based organization that promotes respect for human rights internationally, for the right to privacy, against impunity for human rights violators. Contains a section on Africa.
- Digital Freedom Network Focus on development of intervention and information systems to prevent violent conflict. Concerns: early warning and rapid humanitarian and political response mechanisms and conflict prevention and resolution. Contains information on African conflicts.
- Freedom House Work includes an array of research, advocacy, and publications to promote human rights, democracy, free market economics, the rule of law, independent media, and U.S. engagement abroad in many regions, including Africa.
- The Fund for Peace Mission is to prevent war and alleviate the conditions that cause war. The Fund promotes education and research for practical solutions. It is a consistent advocate of promoting social justice and respect for the principles of constitutional democracy.
- Global Rights Human rights advocacy group that supports human rights organizations and activists in different countries.
- Human Rights First A human rights advocacy, promotion and awareness group with a global reach.
- Human Rights Internet Supports human rights organizations by facilitating an exchange of information about human rights through education, publicity, research, and advocacy of the International Bill of Human Rights and its goals. Many links to African-related materials.
- Human Rights Watch Protects human rights world-wide through direct advocacy, public education, and publicity. Has a section focused on Africa.
- INCORE (International Conflict Research) INCORE (International Conflict Research) was set up in 1993 by the University of Ulster and the United Nations University to undertake research and policy work that is useful to the resolution of ethnic, political and religious conflicts.
- International Coalition for Religious Freedom A non-profit, non-sectarian, educational organization dedicated to defending the religious freedom of all, regardless of creed, gender or ethnic origin. Has comprehensive Africa assessment reports section.
- International Commission of Jurists A network of affiliates in more than 60 countries that work together "to promote and protect human rights through the rule of law internationally. Information on affiliates is here.
- International Federation of Human Rights Leagues (FIDH) Advocates on behalf of individual victims of human rights abuse and on behalf of respect for human rights in the daily lives of ordinary people around the globe. Focuses on many issues and has an African Section.
- International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights commission (IGLHRC) Mission "is to secure the human rights of all people impacted by discrimination or abuse on the basis of sexual orientation or expression, gender identify or expression and/or HIV status. Africa related information found at "Regional Information."
- International Lesbian and Gay Association (ILGA) Africa-related information can be found by clicking on the appropriate map.
- Minority Rights Group International Researches and documents situation of minorities world-wide; advocates for the rights of minorities at the UN and in individual countries educates children and teachers on minority issues to counter racism and prejudice. Does work in Africa.
- Refugees International Refugees International generates lifesaving humanitarian assistance and protection for displaced people around the world, and works to end the conditions that create displacement.
- World Relief As the humanitarian arm of the National Association of Evangelicals (NAE), World Relief equips evangelical churches to minister to hurting people's physical, emotional and spiritual needs.
- World Vision International World Vision helps transform the lives of the world's poorest children and families in nearly 100 countries, including the United States.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait