On This Page
This page covers African Art.
Databases
The sources listed below require University of Illinois affiliation or use of University Library computers for access.
- Art Full Text Choose "Art Full Text" from Database Selection Area
- Art Retrospective Identifies older articles on the visual arts and architecture. Choose "Art Retrospective" from Database Selection Area
- Avery Index to Architectual Periodicals Identifies articles on architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history.
- Catalog of the National Museum of African Art Freely available online
Academic Links
- African Art Focuses on "tribal, ritual, ethnic, [and] traditional African art." Includes narratives and photographs. Site created by the Head of Information and Documentation, University Library, Vrije Universiteit Brussel.
- Art and Life in Africa Online - University of Iowa " Art and Life in Africa Online contains information about African Art and Culture. Some of the material on this site has been adapted from similar material developed for the Art and Life in Africa CD-ROM being produced at The University of Iowa."
- ArtAfrica A project of the Fundacao Gulbenkian in Portugal. Covers art and artist from Lusophone Africa. Site in Portuguese and English.
- Arts Council of the African Studies Association "Established in 1982 as an independent non-profit professional association affiliated with the African Studies Association (ASA). The organization exists to facilitate communication" among interested parties.
- Modern African Art: a Basic Reading List by Janet Stanley Annotated bibliography of sources continually updated. Janet Stanley is the Librarian of the National Museum of African Art at the Smithsonian Institution.
Museums
- Afrika Museum Berg en Dal, Netherlands. Site in Dutch with some English.
- Allen Memorial Art Museum at Oberlin College: African Art Collection
- The Art Institute of Chicago: African Collection
- Art and Life in Africa University of Iowa
- British Museum- Africa: Arts and Cultures
- The Cleveland Museum of Art, African Art
- The Cleveland Museum of Art, Egyptian and Ancient Near Eastern Art
- Cyles: African Life Through Art Indianapolis Museum of Art
- Fowler Museum of Cultural History, Africa and African Diaspora UCLA
- Hood Museum of Art: Africa Collection Dartmouth College
- Krannert Art Museum: African Art University of Illinois.
- Lowe Art Museum: Art of Africa University of Miami.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Michael C. Carlos Museum: African Art Emory University
- The Minneapolis Institute of Arts, African, Oceanic, and Native American Art
- Musée du Quai Branly, Africa Collection Paris, France
- Museum for African Art New York City
- MuseuMAfricA South Africa
- Museum of Fine Arts, Boston - Africa Art
- The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
- National Museum of African Art At the Smithsonian Institution. Includes a Library.
- National Museums of Kenya
- The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, African Art
- North Carolina Museum of Art: African Collection
- Royal Museum for Central Africa (Belgium)
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture A Project of the New York Public Library
- Spurlock Museum, Faletti Family Collection of West African Cultural Artifacts
University of Illinois - St. Louis Art Museum, African Art Collection
- Sukuma Museum: Tanzania
- University of Virginia Art Museum: African Collection
- Yale University Art Gallery- African Collection
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait