Introduction
Welcome to the Life Sciences Electronic Reference Guide.
This guide contains selected core reference for life sciences, which includes medicine, health sciences, food and nutitrition, agriculture, biology, environmental sciences, molecular biology, and veterinary medicine.
References are organized by type. Particularly significant, comprehensive, or authoritative works are listed to the right.
Accessing Library Resources
The University of Illinois Online Library Catalog and Online Journals & Databases database contains links to many of the titles in the Guide.
Most resources provided by the University Library may require netid/password access from non-campus computers. An automatic prompt will occur for those resources that require this. We have also included many free resources in this guide.
For any questions, please Ask a Librarian or contact one of the life sciences librarians at the University (see Contact box).
General Reference
These references are particularly significant, comprehensive, or authoritative in their respective fields.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
- Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Informatics
- Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
- Encyclopedic Reference of Genomics and Proteomics in Molecular Medicine
- AccessScience from McGraw-HillFormerly the McGraw-Hill Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
- The Birds of North America
- Current Protocols
- Nature Protocols
- Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
- Methods in EnzymologyLong standing classic book series providing all manner of protocols in the life sciences (not just "enzymology"!). We have this entire series, back to 1955, available online.
- MD Consult
- Chicago Manual of Style
- Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary and Thesaurus
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
- Google Books
- Internet Archive Books
- Springer E-books
- Online Reference Collection for the University of Illinois
Loading...
