Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies  Tags: slavic east_european research_methods russian technology  

A guide to 13 databases with significant content in both English and the languages of the region
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/electronic_resources  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Historical Abstracts             Print Page
  
 

Linguistic coverage

Of the more than 770,000 records in the Historical Abstracts database, about one-seventh are for items written in Slavic, East European & Eurasian languages, as follows:

Russian: nearly 50,000

Polish: over 18,000

Czech & Hungarian: over 8,000

Bulgarian, Romanian, Serbo-Croatian, and Ukrainian: about 5,000

Albanian, Lithuanian, Slovak and Slovene: over 1,000

Armenian, Estonian, Latvian, Macedonian, Yiddish, and other languages of the region: less than 1,000

Total: over 110,000

 

Transliteration

Historical Abstracts follows the standard U.S. system (Library of Congress) for transliteration of Cyrillic scripts, without diacritics.

 
 

Articles, dissertations & masters' theses

Historical Abstracts indexes "more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages." All article titles are translated into English and brief English abstracts are also provided.

  • "Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present"
  • "Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts has long been recognized as the leading bibliography for historical study in the world...a historical periodical database unmatched in breadth."
  • 1955-present -- further retrospective coverage (i.e., for articles published before 1955) is being added
  • Includes articles, dissertations, & masters' theses
  • Over 770,000 records

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait