Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies  Tags: slavic east_european research_methods russian technology  

A guide to 13 databases with significant content in both English and the languages of the region
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/electronic_resources  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Int'l Medieval Bibliography             Print Page
  
 

Linguistic coverage

The number of IMB records for items written in Slavic and East European languages as of May 2008 is as follows:

Polish:  10,821

Czech or Slovak:  7,818

Russian:  3,006

Hungarian:  2,929

Bulgarian:  1,317

Estonian:  less than 500

Total:  about 25,000

 

Transliteration

IMB uses the British Standard transliteration system (which is included in a table here) for Cyrillic scripts, in which (for example) "языческое" becomes "yazȳcheskoe," "любовные" becomes "lyubovnȳe," "варяги" becomes "varyagi," etc.

 
 

Europe, the Middle East & North Africa from 300-1500 C.E.

The International Medieval Bibliography indexes articles from journals, edited volumes, conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogs published since 1967, in over 30 languages. The search interface's default setting also provides access to the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, which is a project currently under development that is aimed at indexing all monographs published on medieval Europe, the Middle East and North Africa since 1957.

  • 330,000+ records
  • Regularly indexes over 4,500 journals, and to date has indexed over 5,000 edited volumes
  • "All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa."
  • Powerful (if quirky) search options, including three "hierarchical indexes"
  • Updated quarterly
  • Approximately 10,000 records added per year
  • Also available in print
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait