Canon Microform scannerFlatbed scanners in the Main LibraryMicroform ScannersPlanetary Scanner
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Research Technologies at the UIUC Library  Tags: slavic technology research_methods  

A guide to Federated Searching, Online Research Resources (ORR), SFX, Ref Works, and Current Awareness.
Last update: Apr 22nd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/SRL2008ResearchTools  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SFX--Discover             Print Page
  
 
 

SFX -- Discover

SFX (short for Special Effects) link server (a.k.a. open linking software, link resolver), is a complimentary product to federated search tools SFX allows researchers to link from a citation in a database to a list of different services available for that item, including links to the full text of a cited article. It can give you direct access from a reference in a database or catalogue to the full text of an electronic journal article.

SFX is flexible and easily configurable. Customizable components are tailored to accommodate the requirements of institutions of all types and sizes. This user friendly software has full unicode support and provides multiscript text capabilities. Users can interface with the system in their preferred language, and libraries can create new language interfaces.

 

Many information providers, covering a wide range of resources, have already adopted SFX linking for their resources. Their numbers are growing steadily. Here is the current list of SFX sources: http://www.exlibrisgroup.com/sfx_sources.htm

 

UIUC’s SFX software is called Discover. You can access it whenever you see the blue Discover button

 

Because it is a linking service, SFX only appears when integrated with other electronic resources, so it does not need to be accessed separately.

 

When available, linking directly to the full text content is provided. It eliminates the extra step of accessing and re-executing searches in other databases. It also cuts down on frustration, since it links users only to resources to which the user has access. These links (the “blue buttons”) will bring you to the Discover menu of available services in various formats. The links are context-sensitive, i.e. Discover presents a custom list of services relevant for that particular citation.

FullText Services in Discover may link to full text of the article in one or more sources, the journal table of contents, or to the journal's home page, which in turn may lead you to the full text of the article. If a link to full text  is not on the menu, it means that the Library does not license the electronic full text for the particular title or that particular issue may not be available.  Click on the online catalog link to see if the item is available in hardcopy.

 Here is an example of a source with the Discover link

 

 

 

Clicking on the Discover button, in this case, does not lead to full text, since UIUC does not subscribe to this journal in electronic format, but note that clicking on Check Library Catalog, will lead directly to the online catalog record for the periodical.

 

 

 

Choosing "Additional Services" gives the following options:

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait