Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources
-
CQ Researcher - 327 G511 - Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
- Beyond Black and White: Affirmative Action in America [videorecording] - DVD 342.0873 B468f - A seminar moderated by Harvard Law School’s Charles Ogletree. Panelists include policy activists, former heads of schools, and academic directors.
- Affirmative Action: the History of an Idea [videorecording] - DVD 342.0873 Af272f - Explores the historical roots of affimative action and the current debate over its usefulness.
- Encyclopedia of Education
- (in print:Q370.3 En194 2003) – Both the print and online editions of this encyclopedia include detailed entries on education related issues and affirmative action, particulary from the higher education perspective.
- American Decades - (in print: Q. 973.91 Am353) – This resource is divided up into decades of the 20th century. Readers can understand the social and economic aspects of each decade and also read about affirmative action in those time periods, staring with the 1960s and on.
- Affirmative action : an encyclopedia - 331.1330973 Af275 – Extremely comprehensive two volume set on affirmative action.
- Affirmative action : a reference handbook - 331.1330973 Ei81a – Thorough one volume reference book on affirmative action. It provides definitions, explanations as well as chronologies and statistics. The entire book provides ample further reading sources in a variety of formats.
- Racial and Ethnic Relations in America - 305.800973 R1156 – Affirmative action is analyzed to provide theoretical, historical and current perspectives on the issue.
- Social Issues in America - Q.361.97303 So1323 – Recent (2006) 8 volume set encyclopedia that has very detailed entries on social topics. Entry on affirmative action includes a detailed article, timeline with list of important cases, glossary, documents and a thorough bibliography.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait