Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
affirmative action
affirmative action programs
discrimination in employment
reverse discrimination
affirmative action and colleges or universities
affirmative action and jobs or employment
affirmative action and government
affirmative action and laws or legislation
affirmative action and women
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Education Full Text (Wilson Web)- Identifies articles and books on all education topics. Note: Check the Education Full Text box at the top of the page before searching.
- ERIC (CSA) - Locates articles and documents on education research and practice.
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional - Find copies of bills, laws, legislation, congressional reports, and other Congressional publications.
- PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service (CSA) - Covers political, social, and public policy issues. Contains international information and some non-English sources.
- SocINDEX (EBSCO) - Identifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait