Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources
-
CQ Researcher - 327 G511 - Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
- Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections – Q.324.27303.Sa13e – Gives a broad overview of the American political system; a list of suggested readings is included at the end of each entry.
- Encyclopedia of the Democratic Party – Q.324.273403 En19 – Volumes 3 and 4 of this encyclopedia examine the rise of the Democratic Party in the American political system, includes a lengthy section on Issues and Ideology. A bibliography is included at the end each entry for suggested further reading.
- Encyclopedia of the Republican Party – Q.324.273403 En19 – Volumes 1 and 2 of this encyclopedia examine the rise of the Republican Party in the American political system, includes a lengthy section on Issues and Ideology. A bibliography is included at the end of each entry for suggested further reading.
- Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States – Q.324.4097303 N373e – Two volume encyclopedia which provides history, current activities and financial information and interest groups and lobbyists in the United States. A bibliography is included at the end of each section for suggested further reading.
- Presidential Primaries and Caucuses 1992 – Q.324.540973 M131p – Provides statistical information including a break down state by state and county by county of the results of the 1992 primaries and caucuses.
- Elections A to Z – 324.6097303 M784e – A publication from Congressional Quarterly, it “provides a comprehensive guide to understand the current issues, history and concept behind attaining political office in the United States (xiii).
- Voting in America – 324.60973 D561v – Provides an overview of history of voting in the United States as well as brief biographies of individuals who were influential in voter’s rights movements, also contains a section on survey data. Includes a bibliography of additional print and non-print resources.
- Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues and Platforms– 324.973003 R543e – Examines presidential campaigns from 1787-2000 as well as the issues, slogans and platforms of those campaigns. Includes a Guide to Related Topics as well as a bibliography.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait