Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources
-
CQ Researcher - 327 G511 - Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
- Current Issues- Q306.0973 C936 – Articles covering issues that students encounter in schoolwork, the media, and everyday conversations. Entry under ‘poverty,’ includes the distribution of poverty in America.
- Dictionary of American History – Q973.03 Ad1d 2003 – Brief history of topics in American History from Colonial times to 2003. Entry on ‘poverty’, includes bibliography.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture – 973.9203 En194 c.2 – Articles that offer overviews of “fundamental issues” in American culture and society. Entry on the ‘War on Poverty’, includes further reading suggestions.
- Encyclopedia of Sociology - Q301.03 En199 2000- Articles about a variety of sociological topics written for a broad range of literate people. Indexed entry on ‘poverty,’ entry includes demographics, theories about poverty, measures of poverty, and references.
- Issues & Controversies on File – 973.05 Is - Issued twice-monthly, has a compilation of news analysis and background information on current issues. Indexed under ‘Poverty’, includes bibliography and additional sources.
- Pollution A to Z – 363.7303 P765 – Information about pollution and its effects on human and environmental health. Entry on ‘Poverty,’ a bibliography and additional internet resources.
- Social Issues- Q301.03 So13- Includes articles about a variety of social issues faced today. Entry on ‘Poverty.,’ includes bibliography.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait