Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources
-
CQ Researcher - 327 G511 - Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues – 363.7003 En192 – Entries on wide-ranging topics to meet environmental literacy needs. Entry on ‘Urbanization and urban sprawl,’ includes suggested readings.
- Environmental Encyclopedia – Q363.7003 En89 2003 – Includes articles focused on environmental concerns. Entry on ‘Urban Sprawl,’ includes additional resources.
- International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics – 363.7056 In821 –Brings together the different views, perspectives, issues and debates of international environmental politics. Includes further readings.
- Issues & Controversies on File – 973.05 IS – Issued twice-monthly, has a compilation of news analysis and background information on current issues. Index entry under ‘Cities and Suburbs- Urban Sprawl’ in 2006 and 1998, includes bibliography and additional sources.
- Pollution A to Z – 363.7303 P765 – Information about pollution and its effects on human and environmental health. Entry on ‘Sprawl’ and an additional internet resource.
- Social Issues in America - Q361.97303 So1323 – Examines the complex issues facing society today (2006). Entry on ‘Urban Sprawl,’ includes timeline, breakdown by state and major city, glossary of related terms, several important related documents, web sites, and references.
- Urban Sprawl - 307.760973 W67u - A reference handbook including an overview of urban sprawl, a glossary of related terms, statistics, important related documents, a directory of related organizations, related print resources, and related videos.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait