Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources
-
CQ Researcher - 327 G511 - Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
- The President’s Position: Debating the Issues – 320.60973 P926 – Three volumes which examine the presidential administrations of the 20th century. A brief explanation of the administrations is provided and followed by primary documents that were written during the administration.
- How Government Works – Q.320.473 H83 – Single volume encyclopedia that examines each of the three sections of government. The second section focuses on the Executive branch.
- Atlas of American Politics 1960-2000- Looks at government from a historical, geographical and political point of view. See chapter 4 for a discussion of the executive branch.
- Real Life Dictionary of American Politics – 320.9709045 At65 – A guide to the jargon frequently used in political lexicon.
- Congressional Quarterly’s desk reference on American government – 320.473 W535e – See chapter II for information on the presidency, each entry also includes a list of citations at the end.
- Encyclopedia of the Clinton Presidency – 973.929903 L579e –An examination of the Clinton years, includes entries on events which took place during the administration as well as significant individuals of the administration, includes a list of suggested readings at the end of each entry.
- American First Ladies – 973.082 Am35 – A book of short biographies of the First Ladies from Martha Washington to Hillary Clinton. At the end of each biography there is a list of other books that contain biographical information on the First Lady.
- The American Presidents – 973.0992 Am352 2000 – An overview of each presidential administration from George Washington to Bill Clinton. At the end of each section there is a list of further readings on the subject .
- Complete American Presidents Sourcebook – 973.099 M437c – A basic reference source that contains a brief examination of the presidential administration’s of George Washington through George W. Bush. Each entry also contains one primary source document from the administration. A list of suggested readings is included at the end of each entry.
- The Vice Presidents – 973.099 V662 – Biographies of the Vice Presidents, from John Adams to Al Gore, includes a bibliography at the end of each section.
- Presidential Scandals – 973.099 Sch82p – Examines each presidential administration and the scandals that occurred under that administration, contains a bibliography at the end of each entry. Contains entries from George Washington to Bill Clinton.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait