Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Presidents – United States
Executive Power – United States
United States of America
Presidents
History
Federal government
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- America History and Life (ABC Clio)– Historical database of American history, contains articles from prehistory to present.
- Reader’s Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) (Wilson Web)- Articles from popular magazines, helpful for 20th popular culture research.
- New York Times Historical (Proquest) – Covers paper from 1895-1998, although there may be some gaps. Good for primary source documents.
- Historical Wall Street Journal (Proquest) – Covers paper from 1889-1985, offers full page and article images. A good for primary source documents.
- World Wide Political Science Abstracts (CSA) —Articles on political science, public administration, policy and political economy.
- PAIS – Public Affairs Information Service (CSA) – Contains articles on political, social and public policy issues.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait