Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Popular music
Violence
Aggressiveness
Rap (music)
Rap musicians
Hip-hop
Rock music—social aspects
Music videos
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- SocIndex (Ebsco)Identifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies.
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA) - Lots of scholarly journals articles, dissertations, books, and other information covering a wide variety of sociology topics. Useful for many Controversial Issues topics as well.
- Gender Watch (ProQuest) - Articles about gender issues from a wide variety of subject areas.
- Music Index (EBSCO)- Indexes a wide variety of music publications, both scholarly and popular.
- International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)near comprehensive collection of music periodicals from the popular to the scholarly.
- PsycINFO (CSA)- Indexes scholarly Psychology journals and other publications.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait