Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Latin American & Caribbean: Art  Tags: latin_america art_history art caribbean  

Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LAC_art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

LA&C Library Resources Homepage

LA&C Library Collections & Services Homepage

 

LA&C Articles

More Indexes & Databases

Best:

HAPI UIUC
Identifies article and review citations regarding Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. in subject areas including political science, history and the humanities.

Handbook of Latin American Studies WWW
An excellent multidisciplinary resource from the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.

Chicano Database UIUC
Identifies publications about Mexican-American and Latino topics. Provides selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.


Other:

Clase y Periodica WWW
A database of article citations from more than 2,500 Latin American and Caribbean scientific journals from from 1979 to the present.

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) WWW
Tables of contents for hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences from Latin America.

LATINDEX WWW
Directory of 12,000 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal in a range of disciplines.



How to find articles tutorial


 
 

Good starting points...

Q. 980.00321 C1441992 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.

972.9003 En19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Reference Lib.)
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000. 3 Vols.

Q. 980.003 EN19 (ML&L Lib. Ref.; Undergrad. Lib. and Reference Lib.)
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. New York : C. Scribner’s Sons, 1996. 5 Vols.

Q. 980.003 L349 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
Latinoamericana : enciclopédia contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe. São Paulo, 2006.

Q. 972.01 Ox25 (Ed. & Soc. Sci. Lib.)
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America. Oxford, 2001. 3 Vols.

 

UIUC Library Resources

Ricker Library of Architecture and Art

 

Major Artists

Diego Rivera

Diego Rivera Web Museum

Diego Rivera Mural Project

To find books about Diego Rivera, go to Catalog Quick Search and search "Rivera, Diego" using subject as the search by option.

To find articles about Diego Rivera, search the indexes available through the Ricker Library of Architecture and Art (see side bar).


Frida Kahlo

Frida Kahlo

To find books about Diego Rivera, go to Catalog Quick Search and search "Kahlo, Frida" using subject as the search by option.

To find articles about Frida Kahlo, search the the indexes available through the Ricker Library of Architecture and Art (see side bar).

 

Latin American & Caribbean Library Collections and Services

Profile ImagePaula Carns, interim librarian
Contact Info:
pcarns@illinois.edu
425 Main Library
1408 W Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL
Tel: (217) 244-0483
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Hours M-F 9-5
Send Email

 

Finding books by subject

Finding books on a topic is easy with subject searching. Use the Catalog Quick Search. In the Search For box, type a suggested subject headings and choose the Subject option. Subject searches use Library of Congress subject headings and thus are always in English. For related subject terms, scroll through the list of results.

Suggested Subject Headings:

 

Art, Latin American -- Century (ex. 16th century)

Artists--Latin America--Biography

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait