Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Gender & Democracy in Russia, Eurasia & Beyond : Research Strategies & Sources  Tags: slavic russian women_and_politics women_and_media gender_studies  

A Companion Guide to the UIUC REEEC Summer Research Lab workshop "Gendering Democracy: Self, State, and Political Reform in Eurasia and Beyond"
Last update: Oct 31st, 2008 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/gender_in_eurasia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Other Full-Text Resources             Print Page
  
 

Other resources

Other full-text resources available at the UIUC Library can be found using the Library's Online Research Resources page. See the Slavic Reference Service's guide to Research Technologies for details.

 

"Grey literature"

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) specializes in “grey literature,” i.e., working papers, occasional papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, case studies, course packs, and the publications of think tanks, NGOs, and university research institutes.  CIAO provides access to a large amount of full-text materials in English that can be difficult or impossible to find elsewhere, but this access is hampered by less-than-perfect search capabilities.  Chronological coverage is from 1991 to the present.

 
 

Virtual newspapers from around the world

Library PressDisplay is a full-text, searchable, 60-day archive of 650 major newspaper titles from over 70 countries.  Most, if not all, of the titles from Russia and the CIS countries included here are also available through the East View databases.  The distinction is that through Library PressDisplay, users see the newspapers as they appear in print, with advertisements, illustrations, and other context.

  • Same-day online full-color replicas of print editions of newspapers
  • No retrospective coverage beyond a moving 60-day window
  • 42+ titles from Russia, 1 from Armenia, 1 from Azerbaijan, 1 from Ukraine

From the index page for Library PressDisplay's Hungarian newspapers

From the index page for Library PressDisplay's Hungarian newspapers

 

For researchers and scholars interested in current events, Library PressDisplay offers several attractive options, including full-text searching, blogging, and RSS feeds (see the Slavic Reference Service's guide to Research Technologies). In our experience, the performance of the search interface can be uneven, but it can nevertheless be used to great advantage for most newspapers. Click on the image below to see the first few results of a search for "абхазия" in all newspapers on May 21st, 22nd, and 23rd, 2008:

Click on the following image to see one of several possible modes of display for the second search result:

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait