Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Gender & Democracy in Russia, Eurasia & Beyond : Research Strategies & Sources  Tags: slavic russian women_and_politics women_and_media gender_studies  

A Companion Guide to the UIUC REEEC Summer Research Lab workshop "Gendering Democracy: Self, State, and Political Reform in Eurasia and Beyond"
Last update: Oct 31st, 2008 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/gender_in_eurasia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

East View Publications             Print Page
  
 

Governmental Publications

"The Universal Database of Governmental Publications (UDB-GOV) monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. It includes stenographic records of the hearings of both its houses, the Duma and Federation Council, and provides vote results, resolutions and legislative drafts as well as auxiliary information such as the schedule and agenda of legislative work. The Database includes Biulleten' Schetnoi palaty published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma and the Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma, or The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Texts of laws, presidential decrees, government's resolutions and the Constitutional Court's decisions are also available as well as comments on current Russian legislation published by popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo."

 

Ukrainian Publications

"The world's first database of newspapers and magazines of Ukraine (UDB-UKR) includes publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English. They cover a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs of Ukraine. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies. An integral and unique part of this database is the Ukrainian Book Chamber's editions, which list everything published in Ukraine with detailed bibliographic description."

 

Social Sciences & Humanities

"The goal of this database is to provide researchers with a unique opportunity to cross-search the contents of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities. It is comprised of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles are added on a regular basis. This Universal Database grows retroactively. Full-text and full-image content of print editions is reproduced with original pagination."

 
 

A wealth of searchable full-text newspapers, journals, etc.

East View provides full-text, searchable access to many dozens of periodical publications from the former Soviet Union, with complete coverage going back to 2000 or earlier in most cases. Publications can be searched individually or as a group; multiple databases can also be searched simultaneously. The vast majority of the publications included are in Russian, so entering search terms in Cyrillic script is essential.

 

Russian Central Newspapers

"The Universal Database of Russian Newspapers (UDB-COM) provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database, thus offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Several English-language newspapers including the notable Moscow Times, widely read by the international community in the Russian capital, constitute an important part of the database."

 

Russian Regional Newspapers

"The Universal Database of Regional Russian Newspapers (UDB-REG) provides close-up coverage of developments throughout Russia's regions. This database currently presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and includes coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The database represents such noteworthy regions as the troubled Northern Caucasus (Groznenskii rabochii from Chechnya, Severnaia Osetiia from Northern Osetiia-Alania, etc.), oil & gas rich Western Siberia (Tiumenskie izvestiia, etc.), the investment-friendly Volga region (Nizhegorodskie novosti from Nizhnii Novgorod or Samarskie izvestiia from Samara), and many others. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered as most authoritative. The list of titles will continue to be expanded."

 

CIS and Baltic Periodicals

"The Universal Database of CIS and Baltic Newspapers includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. The sources are in Russian and in English, and cover various issues of domestic and international importance. AP-Blitz, an information agency, offers its daily news line Tajikistan News in Brief. Another important publication from the same region is The Times of Central Asia, a business weekly published in Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan). Kazakhstan, Belarus and Turkmenistan are represented with official newspapers while Ukraine, Moldova and Latvia are represented with the most popular business titles. There are also newspapers from Lithuania, Georgia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan, and the database continues to expand."

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait