Looking for more?
Other article indexes available at the UIUC Library can be found using the Library's Online Research Resources page. See the Slavic Reference Service's guide to Research Technologies for details.
Index Islamicus
Index Islamicus indexes a wide range of material relating to the Muslim world. Online chronological coverage stretches back to 1906, while the print version goes back further, with some coverage of materials published as early as 1665 (see UIUC call numbers Main Reference 016.915 In2, 016.915 In2q, and 016.915 In2Q1).
Other possibilities
Other databases--some subject-specific, others more general--may also be of use. These include AnthropologyPlus, ABSEES and EBSEES (the American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies and European Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies, respectively), Index Islamicus, and, for researchers interested in health-related issues, MEDLINE (available via the National Library of Medicine, Ovid, and Thomson-ISI), Scopus, and PubMed. Since it has now been nearly two decades since the dissolution of the Soviet Union, Historical Abstracts may also contain useful citations for researchers of the post-1991 period (see box below).
Articles, dissertations & masters' theses
Historical Abstracts indexes "more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages." All article titles are translated into English and brief English abstracts are also provided. It can be accessed through its own interface (due to be retired as of 1 July 2008) or via EBSCO.
- "Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present"
- "Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts has long been recognized as the leading bibliography for historical study in the world...a historical periodical database unmatched in breadth."
- 1955-present -- further retrospective coverage (i.e., for articles published before 1955) is being added
- Includes articles, dissertations, & masters' theses
- Over 770,000 records
Of these more than 770,000 records, about one-seventh are for items written in Slavic, East European & Eurasian languages, as follows:
- Russian: nearly 50,000
- Polish: over 18,000
- Czech & Hungarian: over 8,000
- Bulgarian, Romanian, Serbo-Croatian, and Ukrainian: about 5,000
- Albanian, Lithuanian, Slovak and Slovene: over 1,000
- Armenian, Estonian, Latvian, Macedonian, Yiddish, and other languages of the region: less than 1,000
- Total: over 110,000
Historical Abstracts indexes non-monographic materials on the history of the entire world, with the exception of the United States and Canada, which are indexed in a separate database. Both of these databases can easily be searched at once using the interface provided by ABC-CLIO, but they must be searched separately if using the EBSCO interface. Historical Abstracts follows the standard U.S. system (Library of Congress) for transliteration of Cyrillic scripts, without diacritics.
Subject Guide |
Slavic Reference Service![]() |
Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait