Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Gender & Democracy in Russia, Eurasia & Beyond : Research Strategies & Sources  Tags: slavic russian women_and_politics women_and_media gender_studies  

A Companion Guide to the UIUC REEEC Summer Research Lab workshop "Gendering Democracy: Self, State, and Political Reform in Eurasia and Beyond"
Last update: Oct 31st, 2008 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/gender_in_eurasia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

CSA Indexes             Print Page
  
 

Sociological Abstracts

Like Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts is offered through the CSA Illumina interface, enables Cited Reference Linking for certain records (namely those entered since 2002 from so-called "key" sociological journals), includes browsable indexes, and uses an in-house classfication scheme.

  • 836,445+ records
  • Articles, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations, and conference papers, all with abstracts
  • 1,947 journals indexed
  • 1952-present -- UIUC's subscription only goes back to 1960
  • Updated monthly, with approximately 30,000 new records each year
  • Also available in print

Click (and then click again) to see some sample records from Sociological Abstracts.

 

Social Welfare, Social Policy, etc.

Social Services Abstracts indexes "articles and dissertations in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development" published since 1980.

 
 

CSA indexes

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) maintains several databases that can be of great use for the study of gender and democracy in Russia and Eurasia, all offered through the same search interface. These include Sociological Abstracts, World Wide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PsycINFO. In addition to an abstract, clickable subject headings, and other standard items, CSA records usually include all of the references from the article in question, with links to other articles that also cite those sources. Click (and then click again) on the image at right for an example from PsycINFO.

 

 

Political science articles, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations

World Wide Political Science Abstracts is offered through the CSA Illumina interface, which provides a wide range of powerful search options and unique features such as the automatic retrieval of lists of scholars, websites, etc. dealing with the subjects implied by your search terms. All records entered into this database prior to 2001 were not identified by language. Since 2001, records for 2,396 Russian-language items have been entered, with fewer records for other languages of the region.

  • 646,819+ records
  • Over 1,600 journals indexed, over two-thirds of which are published outside the United States
  • Articles, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations
  • 1975-present
  • Updated monthly
  • About 20,000 new records each year
  • For records added since 2001, "Cited Reference Linking" enables chasing references from one article to another--for records added since 2004, Citation-Index-like features are available as well
  • Browsable indexes
  • A 3,000-term thesaurus provides hierarchically-related subject terms for all records added since 2000
  • In-house classification scheme

Click (and then click again) on the following images to see a sample search result and list of scholars.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait