This is the "Introduction" page of the "Finding Library Materials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide provides a brief overview of important tools to locate scholarly materials as well as links to information on how to identify and locate information you need.
Last Updated: May 30, 2014 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/finding_library_materials Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Library Catalogs

Library Online Catalogs are used to locate and request books and other Library items. 'HOW TO' GUIDES

 

Literature Databases

Literature Databases are used to identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of periodicals.

 

Online Journals and Databases

The Online Journals and Databases tool provides access to most electronic information resources (e-journals, e-reference books, electronic indexes and abstracts) available from the Library. 

 

Easy Search

Easy Search is a search and discovery tool that allows you to search a variety of article, book, and Web sites simultaneously. There are a number of subject-specific categories you can limit your search to, including one for Arts & Humanities Articles, and more.  Selecting the Books category searches the Library Online Catalog, the I-Share catalog for state academic libraries, Google Books, Microsoft Live Books, and Amazon Books.  For more information see What is Easy Search?

 

Introduction

The University of Illinois Library, the largest public academic libraries in the United States, is steward to one of the world’s premier research collections. This collection contains over 13 million volumes and 24 million other items in all formats, which can be found in over 30 departmantal libraries and centers.

Finding something from our campus Library system can seem daunting at first look, but there are a myriad of ways to learn how about how to search our vast wealth of resources to find just the right thing you need for your scholarly work.

This guide provides a brief overview of important tools to locate scholarly materials. It also provides links to information on how to identify and locate information you need.

There are librarian subject specialists in many discipline areas to assist you.  Many provide bibliographic insturction on how to find and use our many resources.  Many also provide guides and tutorials that can be found on their departmental libraries' and centers' webapges.

Additionally there are several excellent Learn to Use the Library tools available from the campus Library portal. 

Just Ask A Librarian if you need help along the way!

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Melody Allison
Contact Info
Funk Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES) Library
200 ACES Library, Information, and Alumni Center (LIAC)
1101 South Goodwin Avenue
Urbana, IL 61801
Send Email
 

"Discover" Our Full Text

Button: Discover UIUC Full Text Linking

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip