This is the "Find Grant Funding" page of the "Grants, Fellowships, and Scholarships" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grants, Fellowships, and Scholarships   Tags: fellowships, funding, grants, learn, proposal writing, proposals, savvy_researcher, scholarships  

Find funding support for your research or studies--A guide aimed at faculty, researchers, and students
Last Updated: Sep 8, 2014 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/grants Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Grant Funding Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Top Picks - Online Databases for Finding Funding & Fellowships

Foundation Directory Online (FDO)


Foundation Directory Online is a database of the 10,000 largest private and community foundations in the U.S. based on their annual giving.  Updated weekly, the data in FDO is compiled from IRS returns, grantmaker web sites, annual reports, printed application guidelines, the philanthropic press, and various other sources.  The University of Illinois Library provides university members access to this subscription-based database.


Grant Forward (Formerly IRIS)


A searchable database of grant funding opportunities, formerly IRIS (Illinois Research Information Service). Allows users to create logins, save searches, and get recommendations


SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network)/ infoEd


SPIN provides electronic Research Administration (eRA), and it help "manage the data and to automate many of the processes that facilitate the administrative work involved in research."  It provides robust searchable database to track funding programs (grants, fellowships, publication subventions, etc.) of government, private and nonprofile funding globally.

  • Anyone can get started using Spin, using the SPIN CLASSIC to run searches for funding opportunities
  • For individuals or institutions who subscribe to SPIN, you can begin your search at: NEW SPIN
        
    NOTE: The University of Illinois subscribes to New Spin, providing only one user at a time to access to the database. To access the New Spin database, you must be at a University of Illinois computer terminal so that its IP address is recognized as an University of Illinois address.  Also, there can only be one user at a time, so if the site is busy, try back later.

Grants.gov

A searchable database for finding U.S. federal grants and an interface used for submitting proposals. You can search for grants, sign up for email notifications, and apply for grants through this portal.


 

More Online Databases - Search for Funding

Chronicle of Philanthropy - RFP Deadlines


The Chronicle of Philanthropy provides a listing of upcoming grant deadlines.  It is searchable by keywords and category.


Philanthropy News Digest - RFP


A service of the Foundation Center, this site lists recent requests for proposals (RFPs) for grant-making organizations and nonprofits.  This listing is also searchable by terms and subject.


Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance


CFDA provides a full listing of all US Federal programs available to State and local governments; federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the US; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.


Chronicle of Higher Education


The Chronicle of Higher Education provides some information on upcoming fellowships, scholarship opportunities, and upcoming events.


 

Government Research Initiatives

This section contains links to government publications that highlight government agencies' research initiatives.


Rebuilding the Mosaic: Fostering Research in the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences at the National Science Foundation in the Next Decade

Published by the Directorate for the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences of the National Science Foundation in 2011, this document sets forth major ideas, cross-cutting themes, and implications for the directorate’s programs. Four major topic areas for further research have been identified: population change; sources of disparities;communication, language, and linguistics; and technology, new media, and social networks.


Feed the Future Research Strategy

In 2010 USAID conducted initial analyses to identify opportunities for research to contribute to the agricultural goals of the Feed the Future strategy. Advancing the productivity of crops and livestock, transforming key production systems, and advancing food safety and nutrition through agriculture are identified as research themes. Gender, climate change, and the environment are identified as cross-cutting issues.


Advancing Science, Improving Health: A Plan for Environmental Health Research

The National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences' strategic plan for 2012-2017 presents six strategic themes, as well as specific strategic goals. The direct link for this report can be accessed on the above website under the section, "Brochures and Fact Sheets About NIEHS."


Effective Healthcare Program Future Research Needs

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality provides a collection of research needs of specific healthcare issues that synthesizes existing evidence and identifies gaps in research. The collection of projects is intended to be used by researchers an funders to help improve the body of comparative effectiveness evidence that would be useful for decision makers. 


Nanotechnology Signature Initiatives

The Office of Science and Technology Policy and the National Nanotechnology Institute have identified areas for ripe significant advances through close and targeted program-level interagency collaboration. This website provides several links to white papers highlighting various research initiatives related to nanotechnology.


 

Books on Finding Grant Funding

Cover Art
The Foundation Directory - Regina J. Faighes
Call Number: 378.32 F82 Reference, ACES, Music & Performing Arts
ISBN: 9781595423610
Publication Date: 2011-03-01

Cover Art
European Foundations and Grant-Making NGOs - Rita Marcella
Call Number: 060 In871 Reference
ISBN: 1857432681
Publication Date: 2004-12-01

Cover Art
The Grants Register 2012 - Palgrave Macmillan Ltd (Editor)
Call Number: LB2338 .G7 2012 Reference
ISBN: 9780230248014
Publication Date: 2011-07-15

Cover Art
Annual Register of Grant Support - Information Today (Created by)
Call Number: Q. 378.32 An7 Reference
ISBN: 9781573873543
Publication Date: 2009-09-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip