This is the "Home" page of the "Hindi Language LibGuide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide is designed for scholars, undergraduate students and anyone else who is interested in learning the Hindi Language.
Last Updated: May 14, 2014 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/hindi Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide has been designed for scholars who are interested in learning the Hindi Language.

 

Reading Resources

Hindi Alphabets

ALA-LC Romanization Tables: The ALA/LC Transliteration Tables are specific systems for converting from a non-roman script to a romanized one. The UIUC online catalog and Worldcat follow this system exclusively for transliteration.

Learn to Read Hindi

Hindi Language and Literature

Hindi Authors

 

Recommended Online Dictionaries

Digital Dictionaries of South Asia: Searchable dictionaries of South Asian languages.

Shabdkosh: This site works both as an English to Hindi dictionary as well as a Hindi to English dictionary.

हिन्दी शब्दकोश LEXILOGOS - Hindi Dictionary: This dictionary provides online translation from English to Hindi and Hindi to English.

 

Recommended Print Dictionaries at UIUC

Rajpal concise Hindi-English Dictionary

The Oxford Hindi-English Dictionary

Bhāratīya Bhāshā Kośa: This dictionary of Indian Languages contains synonyms arranged column-wise in the following Indian Languages: Punjabi, Urdu, Kashmiri, Sindhi, Marathi, Gujrati, Bangla, Assamese, Oriya, Telugu, Tamil, Malayalam and Kannada.

 

Hindi Online Language Learning Resources

A Door into Hindi: "A Door Into Hindi" is a free, interactive, multimedia Elementary Hindi learning website. It consists of 24 video-based lessons with accompanying scrolling texts, grammar notes, glossaries, cultural notes, “video-professors,” and other learning resources.

Darvazah: A Door Into Urdu: Online Urdu lessons from North Carolina State University

Virtual Hindi: Hindi language learning materials from NYU, aimed at beginning to intermediate level learners

"Hamari Boli": Hindi Urdu Flagship UT@Austin

Forvo.com: Hindi Pronunciation Audio clips of native speakers pronouncing 6,000+ Hindi words.

Hindi/Urdu Languages and Literature: Part of the website of Prof. Frances Pritchett at Columbia University, which includes some useful resources on Hindi/Urdu languages and literature.

Quillpad Editor: Quillpad is an online service for typing in 10 South Asian languages including Hindi.. Users spell out words of local languages phonetically in Roman letters, and Quillpad’s predictive engine converts them into local-language script.

Hindi Language Resources: This website is a collection of links to other resources for learning Hindi including links to Hindi news sites, Devanagari fonts/editors, word lists, academic programs and more.

Hindi Quotes, Idioms and Phrases

Subject Guide

Profile Image
International and Area Studies Library

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mara Thacker, South Asian Studies Librarian
Contact Info
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Rm. 313 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 300-5717
Send Email
 

Created by

This Lib Guide has been designed and created by Sonal Mithal Modi, Graduate hourly, International and Area Studies Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip