Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013
- Illinois Harvest: Digitized Books from UIUC
This digital collection is best used after you have chosen a topic. Begin with the keyword search at the top of the page. The results page will reflect all types of digital content, including photographs, from a variety of participating universities. Use the left toolbar or Relevant Collections to narrow your search, paying particular attention to University of Illinois Digitized Books. Because these are digitized books, they have the tendency to be very old--use this as a supplemental resource to more recent research.
- Academic Search Premier
A great starting point for your research. Don't forget to use the refining tools on the left side of the results page to narrow down your options.
- Expanded Academic Search Premier
Newspapers are likely to be good sources of information. Just be aware that back issues of local papers are not generally available online. However, a trip to the Urbana Free Library Archives or the University Library's History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library is well worth the effort! See details and links below.
- Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection
This UIUC project has currently fully digitized the Daily Illini (1916-1925) and the Daily Urbana Courier (1916-1925). To conduct an advanced search, click the link for "More Search Options" next to the search box.
- Urbana Free Library
Here you will find the most comprehensive public library newspaper collection in the area. The archives specialize in genealogy and local history. Though the focus in on Champaign County, they have information on many other communities in Illinois.
- History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at Illinois
The University of Illinois History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library is a great resource for this project. They hold tens of thousands of reels of microfilm and subscribe to almost 500 current newspapers. Using the UIUC Newspaper Database linked on the right of the page, type in the city and select Illinois as the state. Don't hesitate to explore the helpful Quick Links on the HPNL homepage!
- Access World News
This service includes both contemporary and historical databases. Click on Illinois to search for articles from the News Gazette and other small-town Illinois papers back to 1997. Click on Chicago Sun-Times to search the Sun-Times back to 1986.
- Chicago Tribune
Explore the Tribune's articles during the newspaper's first 150 years (1849-1989).
- New York TImes
Access any New York Times article from 1851-2009.
- Google Advanced News Archive Search
These historical archives include a timeline to help with historical context. Click on the drop-down menu to pull up the advanced search. Not all the articles are free -- to find more of the free ones, select "no price" from the price menu at the top of results list.
- Uni High Library
We keep the previous 10 issues of the Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette. The following newspaper databases will get you to older issues. Use your NetID and password to access them from home.