This is the "Home" page of the "March on Washington - Morford" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

March on Washington - Morford   Tags: introduction to social studies, morford, social studies, subbies, uni high library  

Research project for the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/marchonwashington Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using This Guide

This guide is designed to help you locate and use trustworthy sources regarding the March on Washington. The homepage walks you through searching the UIUC catalog and online databases, while the "Web Resources" tab links to useful -- and often searchable -- websites on the topic. Don't hesitate to ask for assistance from Ms. Morford or Ms. Harris and Ms. Atkinson in the library.

Citing Your Sources

Documenting your sources is a must for credible research. NoodleBib allows you to plug in the information for a book, article (print or online), or image to generate a citation in the desired style, such as APA or MLA.

Narrow Your Search to Books at Uni Library

Here is how to find books at Uni using the UIUC Online Catalog.

1. First do a search in the  UIUC Online Catalog.

2. Once you have your search results, use the sidebar on the right side to limit your search results by LOCATION.

Narrow your search.

3. Write down the call number and search the stacks at Uni for your book!

Periodical Databases

  • Mas Ultra
    Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra School Edition contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more.
  • LexisNexis
    With newspaper articles from present day to 1980, Lexis Nexis is an excellent source to monitor current and historical discussions about MOW.
  • AP MultiMedia
    This site offers images and other recordings of events in the news.
  • Access World News
    This database contains news stories dating back to 1980. Be sure to use quotations around your search terms (eg, "March on Washington") for best results.
  • Historic New York Times
    This database provides New York Times articles dating back to 1850. After you search "March on Washington," try narrowing down your results by year using the tools in the column on the right-hand side of the page.
  • Historic Washington Post
    Washington Post articles dating back to the 1870s. Use the purple timeline on the right-hand side of the page to narrow your results by year.
  • Historic Baltimore Sun
    This historically Southern newspaper might provide a different perspective. For best results, search "March on Washington for jobs and freedom."

Subject Guide

Profile Image
University Laboratory High School Library
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
1212 W. Springfield Avenue
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1589
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip