MC Select 

Free quality scholarly resources available through the Internet.
Last update: Jul 22, 2008URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/mcselect Print Guide    

Home             Print Page
  

How You Can Help

If you have a resource that you believe should be included in MC Select and that conforms to MC Select's stated purpose and scope, please fill out the following form. Please include country of origin, online resource title, Web address, and a brief annotation of the resource you are suggesting.

 

Disclaimer

** Please note that some websites contain advertisements. The Mortenson Center cannot control these advertisements and does not endorse any products or services that appear.
 
 

Purpose and Scope

Please use the tabs across the top of the page to explore free or low-cost online resources!

If you have suggestions for additional resources, please use the "How You Can Help" box on the left. Thanks!

About MC Select: 

Though costly subscription-based article databases and e-journals are important tools for students and researchers, an increasing number of quality free scholarly resources are available through the Internet. Finding them, however, is no easy task! As a service to our Associates and other librarians visiting our website, the Mortenson Center has developed MC Select, a collection of quality online databases available at low or no cost, for research and academic libraries.

We focus primarily on sites that provide scholarly articles either through a search engine or through links to full-text e-journals. We include selected indexes in major academic fields that cite articles--but do not provide full text--since these are useful for identifying existing research. We also identify sources for finding library holdings, websites that have "ready reference" information, and websites where you can find additional free scholarly resources.

Because of the huge number of potential resources and the challenge of maintaining a sustainable website, we limited the scope to article databases or e-journal collections with broad coverage (e.g., agriculture, medicine), primarily in the sciences and social sciences. With your help, however, we hope grow this website into a multilingual, truly international resource: a global, free, and virtual reference collection!

 

Brought to you by:

Sara Thompson

Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Sara Thompson
University of Illinois Library at Urbana-Champaign
142 Undergraduate Library, MC-522
1402 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana, Illinois 61801 USA
Send Email

Links:
Profile & Guides

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait