Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
The United States minimum wage is the lowest legal amount (hourly, monthly, annually) an employer can pay an employee. The current federal non-tipped minimum wage is $7.25, though this varies state by state (many of which are higher, depending on that state's standard of living). The concept of a minimum wage arose from an effort to reduce poverty and to offer protection to workers from wage exploitation. Ideally, the minimum wage is set as a living wage based on the region's standard of living. However, many argue that enforcing a minimum wage adversely affects the national economy. Each time an increase to the minimum wage is proposed, it is hotly contested in the media and in congress. This guide is a starting point for research on the minimum wage in the U.S. economy.
Source: Public Law 110 - 28 (attached as an amendment)
Suggested reference sources
CQ Researcher - Great first place to go for both scholarly journal and magazine articles on most topics, especially current events and term paper topics like gun control, terrorism, etc. Search 'minimum wage' for articles.
Topic Page: Minimum Wage - This is a topic page dedicated to the minimum wage with a lot of linked resources to encyclopedia entries and further reading.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law - A great overview of the minimum wage in the United States with state by state figured and further reading list.
The International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences - An overview of the concept of minimum wage in an international context.
Poverty and Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia - The most comprehensive encyclopedia available on the U.S. government's responses to poverty from the colonial era to the present day.
The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia - A comprehensive collection of entries, essays, and primary source documents emphasizing the importance of economic policy in all aspects of life in the United States.