This is the "Finding Journal Articles in Music" page of the "Finding Journal Articles in Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Journal Articles in Music   Tags: journals, music, research_methods, retrieving_articles  

Last Updated: Aug 5, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/musicjournals Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Journal Articles in Music Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Some definitions

Journal articles offer detailed looks at very specific topics. 

Journal databases (or indexes) allow you to search across hundreds of journals.

These databases include journals beyond those held at Illinois. While many articles are available online or available in print in our libraries, those that are not can be ordered through InterLibrary Loan (see "Getting full text" tab.)

Articles can be scholarly or popular. For how to tell the difference, select the "Is it Scholarly" tab.

How do you read an article citation to understand what you're looking for? Select the "Reading citations" tab.

 

More

See the other tabs listed under this one for more information about finding journal articles.

 

Where to Search for Articles

1. Use the "Music-specific databases" tab of this guide to learn about databases just for finding music articles.

2. If you have no idea where to start looking for articles and other materials:

The Music and Performing Arts Easy Search tool (the orange box on the MPAL homepage) is really useful. Use keywords to search the Library catalog and many of our online databases to see which ones have the most results. More about how to use Easy Search.

3. If you already have a citation for a specific article:

Click the “CitationLinker” tab of the Online Journals & Databases tool. After entering the journal name, issue, author, article title, you will be directed to specific database(s) that contain the article you are looking for.

* If you know the name of the journal you want, search for the title of the journal in:

  1. Online Journals & Databases (Under the "Title" tab) OR
  2. Library catalog (use Title search) OR
  3. MPAL's Easy Search (from MPAL homepage) to see which online article database is most likely to have it.

* If you want a list by subject of all of the databases the Library subscribes to, please use the Databases by Subject page.

Feel free to ask library staff if you have any questions or need any help navigating the SFX tool or Easy Search.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kirstin Dougan
Contact Info
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip