This is the "Local and Regional History" page of the "My Story in the World - Rayburn" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

My Story in the World - Rayburn   Tags: english, rayburn, uni high library, uni subbies  

Research guide for Mr. Rayburn's class.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2012 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/mystoryintheworld Print Guide RSS Updates

Local and Regional History Print Page
  Search: 
 

Illinois Newspapers

News-Gazette (Champaign)
Access full text articles starting from 1997 to the current issue.

Peoria Journal Star
Access full text articles starting from 1991 to the current issue.

Herald & Review (Decatur)
Access full text articles starting from 1990 to the current issue.

State Journal-Register (Springfield)
Access full text articles starting from 1985 to the current issue.

Chicago Tribune
Access full text articles starting from 1985 to the current issue. (Select the second link, Proquest, to acess the historical issues)

 



Databases and Web Resources

Newsbank
Full-text articles from major metropolitan newspapers, international papers, and smalltown U.S. papers. Articles from the Chicago Tribune date back to 1985. Click on Illinois (if you were born here), then scroll through the newspapers to find one that is closest to where you were born. Note the date range of the newspapers - some only go back a few years. Or, if you were born somewhere outside of Illinois, click on United States or The World, and narrow your search accordingly. In the date field, type the month and year you are researching.

Urbana Free Library Archives
Here you will find the most comprehensive public library newspaper collection in the area. The archives specialize in genealogy and local history. Though the focus in on Champaign County, they have information on many other communities in Illinois. The index is now online!

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    University Laboratory High School Library
    Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
    Contact Info
    1212 W. Springfield Avenue
    Urbana, IL 61801
    217-333-1589
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip