Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
LibGuides @ University of Illinois Library - History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library

Contact Us

Profile Image
History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info:
246 Main Library

Guides

African American Studies 100
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Feb 23, 2010
Guide to library resources on historical topics for African American Studies 100
Tags: african_american_studies, history
African American Women in Theater
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Mar 10, 2009
A guide for an assignment in Theater 399/591 & African American Studies 389.
Tags: african_american_studies, history
American Indian Studies Library Resources
by Cindy Ingold, History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Jul 1, 2014
Guide to UIUC's extensive collection of resources for the study of American Indians, including books, newspaper articles and videos.
Tags: history
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Guide to using the microfilm and digital versions of the Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey, a collection consisting of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.
Tags: chicago, chicago_history, history, newspapers
Database Quick Guides
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Feb 4, 2014
Basic information on writing search queries in library databases. Intended audience: advanced searchers, or searchers interested in learning more about advanced searching options.
Tags: database, history
Farm, Field and Fireside
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
A subject guide for use with the Farm, Field and Fireside collection of farm newspapers and periodicals.
Tags: american_history, history, magazines
Farm, Field and Fireside: Health and Hygiene
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
A guide to health and wellness topics in the Farm, Field and Fireside collection of farm periodicals. Supplements the main Farm, Field and Fireside guide.
Tags: american_history, health, healthcare, history, magazines
Farm, Field and Fireside: Immigrant Labor
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
A subject guide that examines the history of immigrants as farm and rural industry laborers from approximately 1890 to 1920.
Tags: history
Farm, Field and Fireside: Indian Lands
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
A guide to the Farm, Field and Fireside collection of farm periodicals. Covers the subject of Indian lands during the period of allotment (1887-1934).
Tags: american_history, history, magazines
Farm, Field and Fireside: Serialized Fiction
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
A subject guide on the history of serialized fiction published in nineteenth- and early twentieth-century periodicals.
Tags: american_history, history, literature, magazines
Finding and Using African American Newspapers
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
Covers how to identify newspapers published in a particular locality; how to look for extant copies; determining which newspapers are available in digital format
Genealogy Resources
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Nov 16, 2012
A guide to finding genealogical materials at the University of Illinois Library.
Tags: genealogy, history
History 200A: Gender and Crime in the Early Modern World, 1450-1815
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Sep 13, 2013
Guide to locating primary and secondary resources for assigned research paper
Tags: historical_research, history
History 200B : Poverty
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Feb 17, 2011
A course guide.
Tags: history
History 200C: Children
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
Guide to finding library resources
Tags: children, historical_research, history
History 200C: Visual History
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Oct 12, 2011
A course guide.
Tags: history
History 200E: Family, Gender, and Law: Transitions, East and West
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Jul 17, 2014
A course guide to library resources.
Tags: history
History 200E: Race and the City
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Oct 6, 2009
Course guide, emphasizes Chicago, 1880-present.
Tags: american_history, chicago, chicago_history, history
History 379: Latina/os and the City
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
A course guide.
Tags: history
History 492C: Historiography and Methodology
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Mar 1, 2010
A course guide. Describes library resources for conducting historical research.
Tags: historical_research, historiography, history
History 495: Africa and Decolonization
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Feb 9, 2010
A course guide. Emphasizes the decolonization of sub-Saharan British Africa, 1950-1980.
Tags: africa, history
History 495A: Incredible India?
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Mar 13, 2009
A course guide.
Tags: history, india
History 498A: History and Film
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2010
A course guide.
Tags: film, history
History 498D : Local History in a Global Context
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
Guide to finding resources on the local experience of global events
Tags: history
History 498D: The Eastern Question
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Oct 11, 2010
A course guide.
Tags: history
History 498F: Finding Book Reviews
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Mar 17, 2009
strategies for searching JSTOR, Project Muse, Historical Abstracts, the History Cooperative, and Expanded Academic ASAP specifically for book reviews
Tags: book_reviews, history
History 498K: A Catastrophic Dependence or "More oil, ever more oil!"
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Oct 15, 2009
Course guide to library resources on the history of petroleum use
Tags: history
HPNL for EALC Students
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Nov 16, 2009
A guide to the resources of the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library for graduate students in East Asian Languages and cultures.
Tags: asia, history
Islam: Library Sources for Research
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 27, 2010
A general introduction to library resources for the study of Islam. Intended audience: undergraduate students. The guide assumes no specialist knowledge of Islam.
Tags: history, islam, religion, religious_studies
Jewish Studies
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Dec 11, 2013
A general introduction to library resources for Jewish studies. Intended audience: undergraduate students. The guide assumes no specialist background in Jewish studies.
Tags: history, jewish_studies, religion, religious_studies
Library Guide for History Graduate Students
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Jun 12, 2013
Basic, up-to-date how-to information important for any History Graduate student.
Tags: historical_research, history
Library Research for History Students: an Introduction
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated May 2, 2013
A general guide to using the library for historical research.
Tags: historical_research, historiography, history
Microforms
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
A guide to finding and using microfilm and microfiche at UIUC Library.
Tags: find, how-to, microfiche, microfilm, microform, newspapers, scanning, technology
Newspapers
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Jul 17, 2014
A guide to finding newspapers at UIUC and beyond!
Tags: articles, how-to, newspapers
Polish-Jewish Studies
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
The guide serves as an introduction to Polish-Jewish studies and draws on Polish and Jewish studies collections of the UIUC Library.
Tags: area studies, history, holocaust, hpnl, ias, international, jews, judaism, poland, polish, slavic
World Cultural Assets: Ownership, Loss, Recovery, and Protection
by History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library - Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
The guide serves as an introduction to issues relating to world cultural heritage, spoils of war, Nazi looting, "displaced" cultural property, and provenance research.
Tags: cultural assets recovery, cultural heritage, cultural history, cultural_studies, history, international_and_area_studies, provenance research, reparations, spoils of war
 
 
Description

  Loading...