Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
LibGuides @ University of Illinois Library - Scholarly Commons

Scholarly Commons

Profile Image
Scholarly Commons
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info:
306 Main Library
Drop-ins welcome
Monday-Thursday 11am-7pm
Friday 11am-6pm
Phone: 217-244-1331

Guides

Adobe Photoshop CS6 Extended for the beginning user
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated May 9, 2013
This guide will act as a quick reference for those who are first encountering Adobe Photoshop CS6 as well as good review for users who have worked with it before.
Tags: adobe, based, editing computer, image, image, photoshop digital, processing
ATLAS.ti
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated May 9, 2013
A tutorial to get started with the computer assisted qualitative data analysis software (CAQDAS) program ATLAS.ti.
Box.com
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Support for using Box.com
Tags: box.com, collaborate, files, mapping drive, windows
Create and Manage an Online Scholarly Presence
by Scholarly Commons, Lisa Hinchliffe - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
This is the LibGuide companion to the Savvy Researcher workshop: Create and Manage an Online Scholarly Presence.
Tags: online, savvy_researcher, scholarly presence
Creating 3-D maps in ArcGlobe - a Grand Canyon fly through
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
Step by step processes for importing digital elevation maps using the three sources of GDEM ASTER data.
Tags: arcgis, arcglobe, aster, dem, digital elevation map, fly through, gdem, geospatial, tutorial
Creating 3-D visualizations in ArcMap using Hillshade
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
Simulations of 3 dimensions can be created in ArcMap using the hillshade tool. This tutorial steps through the process of finding sun angles and applying hill shading to a map.
Tags: 3-d, arcgis, arcmap, dem, digital elevation map, gdem, geospatial, hillshade, shadow, terrain, tutorial, visualization
Current Awareness
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Tools and tips for staying up-to-date on research and published literature in your field
Tags: academia, learn, rss, savvy_researcher, twitter
Data cleaning
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
These are tools to correct and clean up data, typically spreadsheets, and get them ready for further processing. They can do things like correct spelling, remove extraneous characters or even change the order and structure of a data table.
Tags: abbyy, data cleaning, data wrangler, fine reader, google-refine, ocr, pdf
Data Encryption
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Provides information and instructions for encrypting a variety of data types.
Deep Web
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Digital Historian Series: Using Digital Tools for Archival Research
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Oct 20, 2014
This guide is for scholars interested in using digital photography in their archival research.
EndNote
by Scholarly Commons, Erin Kerby, Kelli Trei - Last Updated Oct 1, 2014
An overview of EndNote bibliographic management software with detailed information on getting started and customizing your software.
Tags: learn, savvy_researcher
Financial Literacy
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
A guide detailing financial literacy as it impacts students with tools and resources for various tasks.
Tags: finance, literacy
Finding Digital Elevation Maps (DEMs) for use in ArcMap and other GIS programs
by Scholarly Commons, James Whitacre - Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
Steps through the process of selecting and downloading DEMs from three sources.
Tags: aster, daac, dem, gdem, geospatial, global data explorer, j-spacesubsystems, lp daac, nasa reverb, usgs
Finding Yourself: How to Know Where You Have Been Cited
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
This guide covers the three main places to search for yourself (or someone else): Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar as well as searching for citations to your work in other library databases.
Tags: citation, citation_analysis, finding_yourself, google_scholar, learn, savvy, savvy_researcher, scopus, tenure, web_of_science
Google - Become an Expert
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
A research guide on Advanced Googling
Tags: google, google_images, google_scholar, learn, reference
Grants, Fellowships, and Scholarships
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Find funding support for your research or studies--A guide aimed at faculty, researchers, and students
Tags: fellowships, funding, grants, learn, proposal writing, proposals, savvy_researcher, scholarships
Improve Your Research Strategies
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Oct 20, 2014
Learn to think like a librarian! This guide is an introduction (or a refresher) to using the library to find books and journal articles.
Tags: learn, library orientation, research, research_methods, savvy_researcher
Infographics
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2014
This libguide provides a list of resources for learning about and creating infographics.
Intro to R
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Oct 8, 2013
A brief tutorial on the R programming language.
Mendeley
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Tips and instructions on getting started using the Mendeley research management software.
Tags: citations, learn, research, savvy_researcher
Mobile Media Production
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Information on the numerous new options available for advanced photo, video and audio recording on your iPhone and iPad. Find creative and powerful ways to capture media, edit the media, and then integrate into your course or research.
Tags: ipad, iphone, mobile_media, savvy_researcher
Morae Guide - Usability testing
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Covers the basic functions of Moarae: recording and exporting
ORCID
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Provides information about researcher identifiers like ORCID and how they can be utilized.
Tags: faculty, orcid, publishing, research_identifiers, scholarship
Personal Information Management
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
A guide to help you choose methods and tools for organizing your information in meaningful ways.
Presenting Your Research
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Are you getting ready to give your first presentation on your research? This guide will help you refine your presentation style.
Tags: learn, savvy_researcher
Prezi
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Oct 20, 2014
Tags: savvy, savvy_researcher
QGIS and History 460
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Sep 26, 2013
Resources about Quantum GIS (QGIS), especially for students of History 460: Russia to Peter the Great, with Professor Randolph.
Tags: free and open source software, gis, history 460, qgis
Qualitative Data Analysis: Your Options for Programs
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated May 7, 2013
There are plenty of options for Computer Assisted Qualitative Data AnalysiS (CAQSDAS) platforms. Some are free, others are expensive, and what they offer can vary widely.
RefWorks
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Oct 6, 2014
An overview of RefWorks bibliographic management software with detailed information on specific features, FAQs, and troubleshooting information.
Tags: bibliography, citations, cite, learn, online_resources, savvy_researcher
RefWorks Flow
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Oct 11, 2014
Introduction to the Ref Works Flow, a reference and document manager.
Tags: bibliography, citation, citations
Research Posters
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
How to create a successful research poster
Tags: learn, savvy_researcher
RSS Readers / Google Reader Alternatives
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 17, 2014
Offering alternatives to Google Reader--find the perfect RSS Reader to fit your needs!
Tags: news, readers, rss
Savvy Job Searcher
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
This guide will help you manage your job search and application materials with helpful tips and tools from the web.
Tags: job_hunt, job_search, learn, online_resources, savvy_researcher, workshops
SPSS Tutorial
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated May 2, 2013
This guide provides a general walkthrough of SPSS's basic features.
Twitter for Professional Development
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Resources for learning to use Twitter, how to tweet professionally, growing your professional Twitter network, making your Twitter time more efficient, archiving Tweets, and more!
Tags: learn, professional_development, twitter
Understanding Impact: Impact Factor and Other Bibliometrics
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
This libguide is a companion to the Savvy Researcher workshop entitled "Understanding Impact: Impact Factor and Other Bibliometrics." For more information about this workshop, please visit http://www.library.illinois.edu/sc/services/savvy_researcher.html
Tags: altmetrics, bibliometrics, impact factor, savvy, savvy_researcher
Unwarping images using ArcMap
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
This guide shows how to use ArcMap to transform an image of a curled book into a flat picture. Scanned images of books are often distorted near the binding. This process can correct for that.
Tags: arcmap, grid, images, transformation, warping
Usability Testing - Best Practices
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Oct 3, 2013
So, you have a new web site of piece of software. To make it most useful, you need to have some users actually test it. This LibGuide lists some of the best practices that have been discovered for conducting usability tests.
Tags: best practices, software, testing, usability, web sites
Using PowerPoint to its Potential
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
PowerPoint, probably the most widely used presentation software around, often gets a bad rap. Is it an issue with the tool itself, or how it is used? This guide examines innovative uses for PowerPoint and other presentation strategies.
Viewshare
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Oct 21, 2013
A free platform for visualizing data
Visualizing Your Data
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Are you having trouble crystallizing your research results into effective images? When Excel's bar graphs and pie charts are simply insufficient, there are more powerful tools which can make your data sets pop and sizzle.
Tags: data, learn, savvy_researcher, visualization
What Google Scholar Can Do for You
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
Improve your searching by learning tricks of the trade using advanced features of Google Scholar.
Tags: learn, savvy_researcher
Wikis and more: Collaborative tools for faculty research, service, and teaching
by Scholarly Commons - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Learn how wikis enable collaboration with colleagues on campus or in Cleveland or Cairo, and promote student group work by managing the details of circulating documents and collaborative writing.

Office Hours

Fall Semester Hours
Monday 11.a.m - 7 p.m.
Tuesday 11.a.m - 7 p.m.
Wednesday 11.a.m - 7 p.m.
Thursday 11.a.m - 7 p.m.
Friday 11.a.m - 6 p.m.
 
 
Description

  Loading...