Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
LibGuides @ University of Illinois Library - International and Area Studies Library

Subject Guide

Profile Image
International and Area Studies Library
Contact Info:
Room 321 Main Library
Phone: (217) 333-1501

Guides

Albania National Bibliography
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to different Albanian bibliographies.
Tags: albania, bibliography, east_european, slavic
Arabic-language resources at the UIUC Library
by International and Area Studies Library - Last Updated May 7, 2013
An introduction to the University Library's holdings of Arabic-language materials, including current periodicals, reference works, language-learning materials, databases, DVDs, archival collections, and the 55,000-volume general Arabic-language collection
Tags: arabic, international_and_area_studies, middle east
Archives of Russia, Eastern Europe & Eurasia
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated May 13, 2014
General introduction to archival resources and terminology, with links to numerous archival institutions, descriptions of procedures, and details of guides specializing in information pertaining to archives and primary source documents in print and online
Tags: archives, literature, russian, slavic
Balkan Studies: Multidisciplinary Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
A guide to the many multidisciplinary resources for Balkan Studies.
Tags: slavic
Baltic Countries Biography Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Biography resources for those researching the Baltic states.
Tags: baltic, biography, east_european, slavic
Basic Resources for Japanese Studies
by International and Area Studies Library - Last Updated Nov 27, 2013
This is a resource guide for IAS staff members, graduate assistants and student workers.
Tags: international_and_area_studies, japanese resources
Belarus National Bibliography
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to bibliography sources for Belarus.
Tags: belarus, bibliography, east_european, slavic
Bibliographies of Bibliographies for all Countries/Republics of Former Yugoslavia
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Bibliography of Bibliographies for all Countries/Republics of Former Yugoslavia, including Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia, and Yugoslavia.
Tags: east_european, montenegro, serbia, slavic, slovenia, yugoslavia
Big Read: The Death of Ivan Ilyich
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
A guide to online resources in English about Tolstoy's "Death of Ivan Ilyich"
Tags: literature, slavic
Biographical Dictionaries
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide explains what biographical dictionaries are (reference book that contains predominantly biographical articles) and points to biographical dictionaries for people interested in Slavic and East European biographical studies.
Tags: baltic, biographical, biography, czech, east_european, polish, russian, slavic
Biographical Resources for Emigres
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide covers strategies for doing research about emigres from Eastern European and Slavic countries.
Tags: biography, east_european, emigrants
Biographical Sources for Judaica
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide covers the study of biography for Slavic and East European Jewish populations.
Tags: biography, east_european, jewish_studies, judaica, slavic
Bosnia and Hercegovina National Bibliography
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to several bibliography resources for Bosnia and Hercegovina.
Tags: bibliography, bosnia, east_european, hercegovina, slavic
Bosnia and Hercegovina Periodical Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
An annotated list of some printed bibliographic sources that cover periodicals from Bosnia and Hercegovina that are held by the University of Illinois.
Tags: bosnia, east_european, hercegovina, slavic, yugoslavia
Building Lives in Soviet Central Asia
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
This guide is designed for the 2012 Junior Scholars Training Workshop on Central Asia. Moderator: Shoshana Keller, PhD., Hamilton College
Tags: central asia, family_structure, international_and_area_studies, slavic, sociology
Bulgarian History
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Reference Sources on Bulgarian History including bibliographies, encyclopedias, periodical indices, dictionaries and biographical resources.
Tags: bulgaria, east_european, history, slavic
Bulgarian Linguistics
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Resources for Bulgarian Linguistics including bibliographies, periodical indexes, Bulgaristika, encyclopedias, dictionaries, grammars, biography, and websites.
Tags: bibliography, bulgaria, east_european, language, linguistics, slavic
Bulgarian Literature
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Reference Sources on Bulgarian Literature including bibliographies, literary encyclopedias, literary dictionaries, periodical indexes, and chronology.
Tags: bibliography, bulgaria, dictionaries, east_european, literature, slavic
Bulgarian Monographic Bibliography
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Annotated bibliographies for Bulgarian monographs that do not truly belong under the category of national bibliography. There are bibliographies of particular publishers or institutions, bibliographies of dissertations, and others.
Tags: bibliography, bulgaria, east_european, slavic
Bulgarian Periodical Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Bulgarian periodical bibliographies and indexes.
Tags: bulgaria, east_european, slavic
Central Asian Sovereignty in the Face of Massive Economic Dislocation
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Jun 7, 2012
This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology
Tags: summer_research_lab
Chekhov: A Bibliographic Research Guide
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Jul 31, 2013
Research sources and strategies for the life and literature of Anton Pavlovich Chekhov and their impact, 1860-present, including bibliographies, databases, encyclopedias, archives, search strategies and more
Tags: chekhov, drama, international_and_area_studies, literature, russian, russian drama, russian literature, short stories, slavic, theater
Croatian Periodical Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to periodicals regarding Croatia.
Tags: croatia, east_european, slavic
Czech and Slovak Bibliographies of Bibliographies
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A list of bibliographies related to research in Czech and Slovak studies.
Tags: bibliography, czech, east_european, slavic, slovak
Czech and Slovak Biographical Resources for Academics and Scholars
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
An annotated list of biographical dictionaries for professors and scholars from various institutions or disciplines.
Tags: biography, czech, east_european, slavic, slovak
Czech and Slovak History
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Guide to resources relating to Czech and Slovak History
Tags: czech, east_european, history, slavic, slovak
Czech and Slovak Monographic Bibliography
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to Czech and Slovak monographic bibliography including Matice publications, Academy publications, and dissertations.
Tags: bibliography, czech, east_european, slavic, slovak
Czech and Slovak National Bibliographies
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Annotated bibliography of Czech and Slovak National Bibliographies with a short mention of dissertations.
Tags: bibliography, czech, east_european, slavic, slovak
Czech Republic and Slovakia Biographical Dictionaries
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A list of Czech Republic and Slovakia Biographical Dictionaries.
Tags: biography, czech, east_european, slavic, slovak
Czech Republic and Slovakia Encyclopedias
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
An annotated bibliography of key Czech and Slovak encyclopedias as well as annotations of encyclopedias published in Czech or Slovak.
Tags: czech, east_european, encyclopedia, slavic, slovak
Dynamics of Cultural Globalization in Post-Soviet Space
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Mar 13, 2014
An interdisciplinary workshop that investigates the social processes of cultural globalization. This guide is intended for participants in the June 2012 junior scholars workshop; Moderator Doug Blum, Prof. Political Science at Providence College.
Tags: central asia, eurasia, global studies, international_and_area_studies, russia, slavic, ukraine
Encyclopedias (Slavic and East European Studies)
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide serves as a gateway to various encyclopedias relevant for research in Slavic and East European studies.
Tags: east_european, encyclopedia, slavic
Encyclopedias as Biographical Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide highlights how to use encyclopedias as biographical resources when researching Slavic and East European subjects. Also lists helpful encyclopedias as starting points.
Tags: biographical, biography, east_european, encyclopedia, europe, slavic
European Union Resources - Teacher's Workshop 2009
by International and Area Studies Library, Lynne Rudasill - Last Updated Jun 29, 2012
A guide to online resources for learning about the European Union.
Tags: european_union_studies
Finding a Place in the Soviet Empire: Cultural Production and the Friendship of Nations
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Supporting materials for the Fisher Forum 2011 which will explore the problem of empire, subjectivity, and cultural production in the Soviet Union.
Finding English Language Sources for Social ScienceTopics - Russia, Eastern Europe and Eurasia
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Oct 18, 2012
There are a multitude of resources that will lead a student to English language materials for the region but some are particularly valuable. This guide will help the student to find those at the UIUC library website, highlighting some of the best.
Fluid Future: Understanding the Black Sea as a Region
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated May 29, 2013
A Guide for Eurasian Studies Training Workshop for Junior Scholars. Moderator: Prof. Charles King, Georgetown University.
Tags: summer_research_lab
Fonts and Keyboards: digital Slavic materials
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide provides tips and resources for people looking to do multilanguage computing, type in Cyrillic using special characters and/or use special accent marks.
Tags: computers, east_european, slavic, typing
Former Yugoslav Monographic Bibliographies
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide to former Yugoslav monographic bibliographies includes information on Matica Publications, Academy of Science Publications, dissertations and special monographic bibliographies.
Tags: bibliography, east_european, slavic, yugoslavia
Former Yugoslavia National Bibliography
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Online and print bibliographies for former Yugoslav countries including special monographic bibliographies and the Yugoslav Academy Publications.
Tags: bibliography, bosnia, croatia, east_european, herzegovina, kosovo, macedonia, montenegro, serbia, slavic, slovenia, yugoslavia
Gender & Democracy in Russia, Eurasia & Beyond : Research Strategies & Sources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A Companion Guide to the UIUC REEEC Summer Research Lab workshop "Gendering Democracy: Self, State, and Political Reform in Eurasia and Beyond"
Tags: east_european, gender_studies, summer_research_lab
General Bibliographies: Bibliography of Bibliographies
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This is a guide to General Bibliographies related to Slavic and East European Studies.
Tags: bibliography, east_european, slavic
General Bibliographies: Monographic Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide serves as a description of the usefulness of bibliographies in advanced research in Slavic and East European Studies.
Tags: bibliography, east_european, slavic
General Bibliography: National Bibliographies
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This page points to resources for national bibliographies of Slavic, East European, and former Soviet states.
Tags: bibliography, east_european, slavic
General Resources for the Arts
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
There are many general sources for the various genres of the arts that can be used successfully by researchers of Russia and Eastern Europe. These resources range from encyclopedias and specialized bibliographies to on-line databases to websites.
Tags: art, cinema studies, east_european, music, slavic
Guide for JapanKnowledge+
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Oct 1, 2013
User guide for JapanKnowledge+
Tags: asia, asian, ealc, japan, japanese resources
Guide for Yomidasu Rekishikan
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Sep 26, 2013
User guide for Yomidasu Rekishikan
Tags: asia, asian, ealc, japan, japanese resources
Handbooks (General Resources for Slavic and East European Studies)
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
General Resources for Slavic and East European Studies
Tags: east_european, slavic
Hindi Language LibGuide
by International and Area Studies Library, Mara Thacker - Last Updated May 14, 2014
This guide is designed for scholars, undergraduate students and anyone else who is interested in learning the Hindi Language.
Tags: hindi, international_and_area_studies, language_learning, south_asian_studies
HISTORY 312: History of Russia to 1914
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Sep 19, 2011
This LibGuide is designed for students taking History 312. Instructor: Prof. Curtis Richardson, Northwest Missouri State University
How to Type in Other Languages
by International and Area Studies Library - Last Updated May 13, 2013
A guide to installing and typing in common non-Latin character scripts on home computers.
Tags: arabic, chinese, chinese characters, hangul, hindi, international and area studies, japanese, kanji, korean, language input, non-latin scripts, second language learning
International Summer Institute 2011 - Human Rights and International Law
by International and Area Studies Library, Lynne Rudasill - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
Resources for the workshop presented by the Center for Global Studies and the American Red Cross -Protecting the Vulnerable in International Conflict: Human Rights and International Law
Tags: global studies, human_rights, humanitarian law, red cross, summer institute
Japanese Cross Gender Studies
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Cross gender studies in the Japanese context
Tags: asia, asian, gender, gender_studies, japan, japanese, literature, modern_japan, pop_culture
Japanese Studies for Undergraduate Students (EALC 250 & Other Courses)
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Aug 9, 2013
This is a resource guide for undergraduate students interested in Japanese Studies.
Tags: asia, asian, ealc, ealc250, history, japan, japanese, literature, manga, modern_japan, pop_culture, religion
Japanese Studies Resource Guide for EALC Grad Students
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Aug 9, 2013
Japanese studies research resources and library guide for graduate students in the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures.
Tags: asia, asian, ealc, history, japan, japanese, literature, pop_culture, religion
Land Mines - Associations and Organizations Information
by International and Area Studies Library, Lynne Rudasill - Last Updated Jun 29, 2012
This is a guide to finding information about the campaign against land mines including association links and statistical information about the injuries incurred by these weapons.
Latin American & Caribbean Resources
by Paula Carns, International and Area Studies Library, Antonio Sotomayor - Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
A guide for finding reference sources, book reviews, dissertations and statistical information for Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
Tags: caribbean, international_and_area_studies, latin_america
Library Catalogs for Slavic and East European Studies
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Guide to finding the print material needed for research in Slavic and East European Studies.
Tags: east_european, slavic
Modern Japan (Meiji, Taisho, Showa)
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Aug 9, 2013
This guide provides information on databases and other online resources in Japanese language.
Tags: asia, asian, history, japan, japanese, modern_japan
Modernity, State and Society in Central Asia : A Research Guide
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Prepared for the 2010 REEEC Summer Research Laboratory's Eurasian Studies Training Workshop at UIUC
Tags: summer_research_lab
Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Apr 28, 2014
A guide to 13 databases with significant content in both English and the languages of the region
Tags: east_european, research_methods, russian, slavic, summer_research_lab, technology
National Bibliography and Publishing in Afghanistan, 1871-2009
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
A guide to the history and bibliography of printed works in the languages of Afghanistan before, during and after the Soviet occupation of 1979-1989
National Bibliography of Bulgaria
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Print and online national bibliography information for Bulgaria.
Tags: bibliography, bulgaria, east_european, slavic
National Bibliography of Croatia
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This is a guide to print and online resources of the National Bibliography of Croatia.
Tags: bibliography, croatia, east_european, slavic
Non-Latin Scripts in a Romanized World
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
Introduces ILL librarians, scholars, and students to the basic skills and resources that will help them verify Slavic-related bibliographic citations, identify holding libraries, and complete ILL requests (or projects) with little to no wasted time
Tags: cyrillic, info_guides, interlibrary_loan, international_and_area_studies, libraries, library_instruction, library_science, library_tools, russia, russian, slavic, summer_research_lab, transliteration
NWM History 513: Modern Russian History
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
This LibGuide is designed for students taking History 513. Instructor: Prof. Curtis Richardson, Northwest Missouri State University
Orientation to the Summer Research Laboratory
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated May 2, 2014
A guide to the UIUC Library, Federated Searching, SFX, Ref Works, and Current Awareness, created especially for visiting scholars during the Summer Research Lab.
Tags: international and area studies, slavic, summer_research_lab
Periodical Indices (General Resources for Slavic and East European Studies)
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A brief guide of periodical indices for Slavic and East European Studies)
Tags: east_european, index, periodicals, slavic
Periodicals Guide for Slavic and East European Studies
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide is an introduction to the use of periodicals in research and links to web-based guides available.
Tags: east_european, periodicals, research, slavic
Rabindranath Tagore Research Guide
by International and Area Studies Library, Mara Thacker - Last Updated Mar 7, 2014
This guide provides an overview of researching the life and works of Rabindranath Tagore.
Tags: bengali_literature, rabrindranath_tagore, tagore, tagorefest
Research Tools on Fedor Mikhailovich DostoevskiÄ­ (1821-1881)
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
This guide is designed for Russian 522 students. Instructor: Prof. Harriet Murav
Resource Guide for EALC500
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated May 22, 2013
A resource guide for EALC500 (proseminar)
Resource Guide for the Study of Japanese Language
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Books and online resources for intermediate-advanced Japanese language learners.
Tags: asia, asian, foreign_language_resources, japan, japanese, language, language learning
Resources for Church Slavic and Old Church Slavonic
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Jan 2, 2014
A list of bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries, grammars, Cyril and Methodius studies resources, and subject websites relating to Church Slavic and Old Church Slavonic.
Tags: east_european, orthodox church, russian, slavic, slavonic
Resources for the Study of Islam and Muslim Identities in Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A guide prepared for the 2009 REEEC Summer Research Laboratory's Eurasian Studies Training Workshop @ UIUC
Tags: summer_research_lab
Resources on Manga
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
Resources on Manga from 7th century to 19th century.
Russia's Role in Human Mobility : Historical and Contemporary Perspectives
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Resources for the study of human mobility and migration in a Russian/Eurasian/global context
Tags: summer_research_lab
Russian and East European Science Fiction - Slavic/CWL 117 -
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Nov 19, 2009
This guide is designed for Slavic/CWL-117 students.
Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies: A General Guide to Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Guide to bibliographic resources, electronic and print focused on the region.
Tags: east_european, literature, research_methods, slavic
SCR 115: South Slavic Cultures
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Oct 7, 2010
This LibGuide is designed for students taking SCR 115. Instructor: Dr. Judith Pintar
Sources for Afghanistan Deployment
by International and Area Studies Library, Lynne Rudasill - Last Updated Oct 1, 2012
Page provided to the Illinois National Guard for their use during deployment.
Tags: afghanistan, government_information
South Asian Archival Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Mara Thacker - Last Updated May 13, 2014
This LibGuide specifically enlists the archival resources at UIUC related to South Asian studies.
South Asian Studies Resources
by International and Area Studies Library, Mara Thacker - Last Updated Jun 19, 2014
This guide provides information on South Asian Studies resources available to UIUC students, staff and faculty.
Tags: india, international_and_area_studies, south_asia
SRL Guide 2009 - Accession and Secession in Southeastern Europe
by International and Area Studies Library, Slavic Reference Service - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
This Guide is designed for Balkan Studies Junior Scholars Training Workshop
Tags: summer_research_lab
Study Abroad - Brazil
by Paula Carns, International and Area Studies Library, Antonio Sotomayor - Last Updated May 6, 2013
A guide for students planning to study and already studying in Brazil
Tags: brazil latin_america study_abroad
Tips for Japanese material search for non-Native Japanese
by International and Area Studies Library, Steve Witt - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
Tips on Japanese materials for non-Native Japanese
 
 
Description

  Loading...