Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
LibGuides @ University of Illinois Library - LEARN to Use the Library

LEARN to Use the Library

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info:
Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-2290

Guides

Biographical Resources
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated May 16, 2014
This guide will help you find online and print information about important historical figures and prominent people living today.
Tags: biographical, biography
Book & Film Reviews
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Mar 6, 2014
This guide will help you locate book and film reviews in print and online sources.
Tags: book_reviews, film_reviews
Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning Student Resources from the Library
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 9, 2014
A guide for students enrolled in online or off-campus courses through Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Tags: academic_outreach, ao, distance, distance_learners, distance_students, learn, leep, online
Current Awareness
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Tools and tips for staying up-to-date on research and published literature in your field
Tags: academia, learn, rss, savvy_researcher, twitter
Deep Web
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Digital Collections at the University of Illinois
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated May 2, 2013
The University of Illinois has digitized a variety of important collections and made them available online. This guide is a topical overview of the highlights.
ESL Graduate Student Guide
by Cindy Ingold, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
A guide to the University Library for English as a Second Language graduate students.
Tags: english_as_a_second_language, esl, international_students
Film Culture: Interpretation and Theories: Film Noir
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
A library guide to American film noir from 1942-1958 including relevant encyclopedias, indexes, journals, books, film clips and more!
Financial Literacy
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
A guide detailing financial literacy as it impacts students with tools and resources for various tasks.
Tags: finance, literacy
Finding Yourself: How to Know Where You Have Been Cited
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
This guide covers the three main places to search for yourself (or someone else): Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar as well as searching for citations to your work in other library databases.
Tags: citation, citation_analysis, finding_yourself, google_scholar, learn, savvy, savvy_researcher, scopus, tenure, web_of_science
Google - Become an Expert
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
A research guide on Advanced Googling
Tags: google, google_images, google_scholar, learn, reference
Government Information Services
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
The University of Illinois Library is a Federal Depository. This portal provides organized access to local, national, and international government information.
Tags: government_information, international_government, local_government, national_government
Haunted Libraries
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
Peruse this guide to learn more about haunted library lore at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and in Illinois, the United States, and the World.
Tags: haunted_libraries
Improve Your Research Strategies
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Learn to think like a librarian! This guide is an introduction (or a refresher) to using the library to find books and journal articles.
Tags: learn, library orientation, research, research_methods, savvy_researcher
Infographics
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2014
This libguide provides a list of resources for learning about and creating infographics.
Mobile Media Production
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Information on the numerous new options available for advanced photo, video and audio recording on your iPhone and iPad. Find creative and powerful ways to capture media, edit the media, and then integrate into your course or research.
Tags: ipad, iphone, mobile_media, savvy_researcher
Mobile-Friendly Resources
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Provides information about mobile-friendly research apps and websites available through the library as well as other helpful Illinois specific apps.
Tags: library, library resources, library tools, mobile
Personal Information Management
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
A guide to help you choose methods and tools for organizing your information in meaningful ways.
Preparing for Life after College
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated May 8, 2014
Use Library resources to preparing for your next steps. Research companies and institutions, save data, and prepare for moving and/or travel.
QR Code LibGuide
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This guide introduces QR codes, how to create them, and provides some creative ways to use them.
RefWorks
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 14, 2014
An overview of RefWorks bibliographic management software with detailed information on specific features, FAQs, and troubleshooting information.
Tags: bibliography, citations, cite, learn, online_resources, savvy_researcher
Research Articles and Refereed (Peer-Reviewed) Journals
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Oct 30, 2013
A step-by-step guide to understanding and finding research articles and refereed journals (also called peer-reviewed journals).
Researching Local Issues
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Oct 8, 2013
Resources relevant to issues in Urbana-Champaign and the state of Illinois.
Tags: champaign_urbana, current_issues, local, statistics, university_of_illinois
RSS Readers / Google Reader Alternatives
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 17, 2014
Offering alternatives to Google Reader--find the perfect RSS Reader to fit your needs!
Tags: news, readers, rss
Savvy Job Searcher
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
This guide will help you manage your job search and application materials with helpful tips and tools from the web.
Tags: job_hunt, job_search, learn, online_resources, savvy_researcher, workshops
The Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning (CITL) Faculty Resources from the Library
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Jan 21, 2014
A guide for instructors of online or off-campus courses through The Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning (CITL) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Tags: academic_outreach, ao, distance, distance_learners, leep, online
Twitter for Professional Development
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Resources for learning to use Twitter, how to tweet professionally, growing your professional Twitter network, making your Twitter time more efficient, archiving Tweets, and more!
Tags: learn, professional_development, twitter
Using PowerPoint to its Potential
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
PowerPoint, probably the most widely used presentation software around, often gets a bad rap. Is it an issue with the tool itself, or how it is used? This guide examines innovative uses for PowerPoint and other presentation strategies.
Visualizing Your Data
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Are you having trouble crystallizing your research results into effective images? When Excel's bar graphs and pie charts are simply insufficient, there are more powerful tools which can make your data sets pop and sizzle.
Tags: data, learn, savvy_researcher, visualization
What Google Scholar Can Do for You
by Scholarly Commons, LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
Improve your searching by learning tricks of the trade using advanced features of Google Scholar.
Tags: learn, savvy_researcher
What's in the Library Catalog?
by LEARN to Use the Library - Last Updated Apr 19, 2013
Learn how to locate a variety of library resources using the library catalog.
Tags: learn, library orientation, library_catalog, savvy_researcher, search_the_catalog, vufind_catalog
 
 
Description

  Loading...