Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
LibGuides @ University of Illinois Library - Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library

SSHEL

Profile Image
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL)
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info:
SSHEL North (Room 100) & SSHEL South (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305
Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864

Guides

Aging
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Aging related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: aging, geriatric_care, geriatrics, gerontology, health, health_care, healthcare, older_adults
Alternative Medicine
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Alternative medicine related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: alternative_medicine, complementary_therapies, health, holistic_medicine, traditional_medicine
Anatomy
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Anatomy related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: anatomy, comparative_anatomy, cytology, histology, human_anatomy, morphology
Audiology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Audiology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: audiology, cochlear_implants, deaf, deaf_rehabilitation, hearing, hearing_aids, hearing_disorders
Bioengineering
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Bioengineering related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: bioengineering, biological products, biomedical_engineering, biotechnology, genetic_engineering, medical_apparatus, medical_instruments
College & University Rankings
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
At this site, you will find links to many ranking services, along with cautionary notes and a discussion of the ongoing controversy over rankings.
Tags: education, rankings, universities
Data and Statistical Sources (Social Sciences, Health, and Education)
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jun 27, 2014
Guide to finding statistics and data on health, education and areas within the social sciences, such as crime, population and demography, and arms control. Includes international sources.
Tags: data, demographics, government_information, quantitative_research, research_methods, social_sciences, statistics
Dentistry
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Dentistry related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: dental_care, dentist_and_patient, dentistry, endodontics, mouth_diseases, pedodontics
Education Standards
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
Guide to finding teaching standards; general, state, and subject educational standards; and education standards resources
Tags: classroom resources, curriculum, education, education_administration, education_law, education_standards, educational_administration, educational_history, educators
eHRAF World Cultures Guide
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Guide to the electronic Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF), a collection of books and articles about different cultures throughout the world
Tags: anthropology, cross_cultural_perspectives, cultural_studies, ehraf, geography, global studies, hraf, human_relations, international_government, international_relations, microfiche, microform, outline_of_world_cultures, research_methods, s, social_sciences
English as an International Language - Resource Guide
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
Guide to resources for academic study and research in the teaching of English as a second, foreign, or international language
Tags: classroom resources, cross_cultural_perspectives, education, educators, english, english_as_a_second_language
Environmental Health
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Environmental health related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: environmental_health, environmental_toxicology, environmentally_induced_diseases, health_risk_assessment
Epidemiology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Epidemiology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: communicable_diseases, epidemiological_methods, epidemiology, public_health
Find Journal Articles in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Guide to locating University of Illinois-accessible print and electronic journals in the social sciences
Tags: electronic_resources, journals, qualitative_research, quantitative_research, research_methods, social_sciences
Full-Text Test/Assessment Instruments
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated May 12, 2014
Listing of full-text assessment and measurement instruments in the fields of psychology, social work, education, and social sciences.
Tags: psychological_tests, psychology, qualitative_research, quantitative_research, research_methods, sociology, standardized_testing
Genetics
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Genetics related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: genetics, human_genetics, medical_genetics
Guide to Finding Lesson Plans
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
Guide to locating print, microform, and electronic curriculum guides and lesson plans on specific topics
Tags: classroom resources, curricula, curriculum, development, education, educators, electronic_resources, eric, microfiche, microform
Guide to Folklore Resources
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
Guide to on-campus, regional, and general folklore resources
Tags: champaign_urbana, chicago, chicago_history, expressive_culture, folklore, museums
Health Communication
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Health communication related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: communication_in_medicine, communication_in_public_health, health_communication, health_risk, health_risk_communication, public_health
Health Policy
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Health policy related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: health_planning, health_services_administration, medical_policy, public_health, public_health_administration
Health Promotion and Education
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Health promotion and education related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: health_attitudes, health_behavior, health_education, health_promotion, health_risk_assessment, preventative_medicine
Immunology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Immunology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: allergy, autoimmune_diseases, immune_system, immune_system_diseases, immunity, immunogenetics, immunologic_diseases, immunologic_factors, immunology
Kinesiology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Kinesiology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: exercise, kinesiology, motor_ability, motor_ability_in_children, physical_education, physical_education_and_training, physical_fitness, physical_training
Law 199 SB: Sexual Orientation and Law
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Sep 17, 2013
Class guide for LAW199SB.
Tags: law, lgbt_studies, lgbtq
Library and Information Science - Basic Information Sources
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, Daniel Tracy, Sandy Wolf - Last Updated Aug 11, 2014
Introduces major reference tools and information search strategies for library and information science.
Tags: articles, library_and_information_science, library_science
Library and Information Science 506: Youth Services Librarianship
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, Daniel Tracy, Sandy Wolf - Last Updated Sep 4, 2013
Highlights information resources, on the web and in print, for the study and practice of youth services librarianship for LIS 506.
Tags: children, library_and_information_science, library_science
Library and Information Science 507: Intro to Bibliographic Metadata (Cataloging)
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, Daniel Tracy, Sandy Wolf - Last Updated Sep 4, 2013
Describes article databases and core journals for the study of cataloging and classification, along with hints for searching and citing sources for LIS 507.
Tags: cataloging, library_and_information_science, library_science
Library and Information Science 590CD: Current Topics in Collection Development
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, Daniel Tracy, Sandy Wolf - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Resources and search tips for the "360-degree review discussion" assignment in LIS 590CD - Spring 2011.
Tags: collection_development, library_and_information_science, library_science
Masters of Social Work Library Orientation
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, Beth Sheehan - Last Updated Jun 14, 2013
Social Work Library Guide: MSW New Student Orientation
Tags: social_work
Medical Imaging
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Medical imaging related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: diagnostic_imaging, imaging_systems_in_medicine, magnetic_resonance_imaging, medical_imaging, mri, radiology, radiology_in_medicine
Medicine
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Medicine related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: clinical_medicine, emergency_medicine, family_medicine, internal_medicine, medicine, pathology, physicians
Microbiology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Microbiology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: bacteriology, medical_microbiology, microbiology, virology
Microform Collections in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
Guide to navigating the microform collections on world cultures, reading, curriculum materials, reports and documents in education and psychology, tests, and more in the SSHEL.
Tags: cross_cultural_perspectives, curricula, curriculum, hraf, microfiche, microform, psychological_tests, research_methods, society, standardized_testing
MUSE330 Learning in Museums (Fall 2012)
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, Beth Sheehan - Last Updated Oct 25, 2012
Guide to library resources to accompany library instruction session for MUSE330 Fall 2012 class
Tags: museum education, museum studies
Neuroscience
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Neuroscience related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: brain, cognitive_neuroscience, developmental_psychology, nervous_system_physiology, neuroscience, neurosciences
Nursing
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Nursing related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: caregivers, nursing, nursing_administration, nursing_services, nursing_services_administration
Nutrition
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Nutrition related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: diet, food, food_analysis, food_composition, food_habits, food_preferences, malnutrition, nutrition, nutrition_policy
Occupational Therapy
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Occupational therapy related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: occupational_therapy, people_with_disabilities, people_with_disabilities_rehabilitation, physical_rehabilitation, play_therapy, recreational_therapy
Oncology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Oncology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: cancer, carcinogenesis, neoplasm, oncology, tumor
Pharmacology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Pharmacology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: drugs, materia_medica, medicine, pharmaceutical, pharmacology, pharmacy
Physiology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Physiology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: comparative_physiology, neurophysiology, physiology, pyschophysiology
Psychology and Psychiatry
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
Psychology and psychiatry related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: clinical_psychology, cognitive_science, developmental_psychology, mental_illness, neuropsychology, pathological_psychology, psychiatry, psychological_tests, psychology, psychophysiology
Public Health
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Public health related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: community_health_services, epidemiology, health_risk_assessment, public_health, social_medicine
Rehabilitation
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Rehabilitation related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: disability_evaluation, disability_studies, disabled, handicapped, people_with_disabilities_rehabilitation, physical_rehabilitation, rehabilitation_counseling
Resources in Anthropology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Library research guide to anthropology resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: anthropology, social_sciences
Resources in Asian American Studies
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Library research guide to Asian American resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: anthropology, asian_american_studies, cross_cultural_perspectives, cultural_studies, social_sciences, sociology
Resources in Biomedical Sciences
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Library research guide to biomedical sciences including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: biomedical, biomedical_engineering, health, medical, medical_genetics, medical_imaging, medicine
Resources in Economics
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, Yoo-Seong Song - Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
Business, economics, markets, political economy resources for faculty and doctoral students in Business & Economics at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Tags: economics
Resources in Education
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Library research guide to education resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: classroom resources, curricula, curriculum, education, education_administration, education_standards, educational_administration, educational_history, educators, school_administration
Resources in Gender & Women's Studies
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Library research guide to gender and women studies resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: gender_studies, women_studies
Resources in Geography & Geographic Information Science
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 25, 2014
Library research guide to geography resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: geography, social_sciences
Resources in Political Science
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jun 27, 2014
Library research guide to political science resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: peace_and_conflict, political_science, politics, social_sciences
Resources in Psychology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Library research guide to psychology resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: psychology, social_sciences
Resources in Social Work
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Library research guide to social work resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: social_sciences, social_work
Resources in Sociology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Library research guide to sociology resources including article databases, journals, reference sources, and class guides.
Tags: social_sciences, sociology
Salud en Espanol
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Health information sources in Spanish.
Tags: espanol, health, salud, spanish
Social Work
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Social work related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: child_abuse, child_welfare, elder_abuse, psychiatric_social_work, social_service, social_work, social_work_with_children, social_work_with_minorities, social_work_with_the_aged
Social Work 401: Practice I
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 25, 2014
Class guide for SOCW 401
Sociology 470: Social Movements
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jun 27, 2014
Class guide for SOC 470
Tags: society, sociology
Sociology 496/596 Globalization and Health
by Peg Burnette, Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, Beth Sheehan - Last Updated Jan 27, 2014
Spring 2014 Library Instruction Class Guide for SOC 496/596
Tags: globalization, health, sociology
Speech-Language Pathology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Speech-language pathology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: aphasia, language, language_disorders, speech, speech_disorders, speech_therapy, stuttering, voice_disorders
Sports Medicine
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Sports medicine related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: athletic_trainers, physical_education, physical_education_and_training, sports_injury, sports_medicine, sports_physiological_aspects, sports_sciences
Style and Writing Guides in the Social Sciences
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
Guide to finding style and writing guides in the Education and Social Science Library, including disciplinary style guides, subject-specific writing and publishing guides, and general writing and publishing guides.
Tags: citation, citations, classroom resources, education, online_resources, political_science, psychology, publishing, publishing_guide, research_methods, social_sciences, social_work, sociology, sources, style_guide, writing_style
Substance Abuse
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Substance abuse related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: alcoholism, drug_abuse, drug_addicts, substance_abuse
Teaching Assistant (TA) Guide
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Sep 20, 2013
Resources and guidance for teaching assistants (TAs) on the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign campus.
Tags: international_students, teachers, teaching, teaching_assistants
The Test Collection
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jun 27, 2014
Guide to searching the Test Collection, which contains over 8,000 tests measuring achievement, intelligence, character and personality, vocational aptitude and many other subjects.
Tags: education, microfiche, microform, psychological_tests, psychology, qualitative_research, quantitative_research, research_methods, search_tips
Toxicology
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
Toxicology related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: hazardous_substances, poison, poisoning, poisonous, toxic, toxicology, venom
Veterinary Medicine
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Veterinary medicine related resources, including journal articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Tags: animal_parasitic_diseases, communicable_diseases_veterinary, parasitic_diseases_animal, veterinary_communicable_diseases, veterinary_medicine, veterinary_nursing
Video Collections in the Social Sciences and Health
by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library - Last Updated Jan 24, 2014
The library has access to a plethora of videos related to the social sciences, health, education, and many more topics.
Tags: anatomy, anthropology, classroom resources, counseling, education, health, online_resources, psychology, social_sciences, social_work, sociology, videos
 
 
Description

  Loading...