This is the "Introduction" page of the "Retrieving Articles at UIUC Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide will inform you of the various ways that journal and other periodical articles available through our Library resources are retrieved.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/retrieve_articles Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Background

INTRODUCTION

As with many things, there is more than one way to get to the same place. Finding journal articles is no different. This guide will inform you of the various ways that journal and other periodical articles available through our Library resources are retrieved.

BACKGROUND

Electronic periodical articles and other types of full text materials are available with the same constraints that print periodical content is available. That is to say, some of it may be free (such as "open source" publications), but at this time most of it is available through fee-based subscriptions. Periodicals take a great deal of time and expense to produce, index, and distribute. Whether delivered through open source outlets or subscription vendor products, costs are incurred – they are just borne in different ways. Most of the resources, including periodical content, available through Library resources is available to you courtesy of the taxpayers of Illinois.

In addition to print journal subscriptions, the Library subscribes to individual electronic periodical titles, as well as packages of electronic journal titles. Electronic versions may be accessed directly through a link to the journal title, or from within bibliographic databases via a "link-resolver" software that connects our electronic subscriptions to records in our bibliographic databases so that you can access the article itself directly. Some bibliographic databases provide the full text of selected periodicals along with the indexed citation records. At times you may even find the full text of the article is provided both ways!  Note: Over time as e-versions have become more available and reliable, more and more of our journal subsciptions have been switched to the e-versions only.

Anyone in one of our UIUC campus libraries or with a UIUC campus IP address can access electronic content via our bibligraphic resources for free. Due to electronic resources licensing agreements, these resources are restricted to UIUC students, faculty, and students, and netids and passwords are needed to access them from off-campus computers.

Please note that the Library of Health Sciences--Urbana (LHS-U), although on UIUC campus, is a satellite of the University of Illinois at Chicago and has separate resources from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign campus Library system. You are free to use the print and electronic resources of the LHS-U by going to their library at 102 Medical Sciences Building, 506 S. Mathews Urbana, Illinois, 61801. Check out their online library catalog UICCAT and electronic journals list to see if they have items you need. For more information, see Finding Medical Books and Journals at UIUC.

NOT TO WORRY

The above background is to give you an idea of how complicated the access to periodical content can be and why there are a number of ways to retrieve articles that you have identified for use – but not to fret! Whether you need electronic or print articles, there are ways to retrieve them in an (almost) straightforward way. See below for how to do this, or feel free to Ask A Librarian for assistance.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Melody Allison
Contact Info
Funk Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES) Library
200 ACES Library, Information, and Alumni Center (LIAC)
1101 South Goodwin Avenue
Urbana, IL 61801
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip