This is the "Home" page of the "Scandinavian Studies: Old Norse-Icelandic Sagas" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Scandinavian Studies: Old Norse-Icelandic Sagas   Tags: literature, saga, scandinavia, viking  

A guide for studying Old Norse-Icelandic Sagas
Last Updated: Sep 6, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/sagas Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Other Sites of Interest

 

Reference Works

Book Cover The Cambridge Introduction to the Old Norse-Icelandic Saga. Edited by Margaret Clunies Ross. Cambridge; Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Book CoverA Companion to Old Norse-Icelandic Literature and Culture. Edited by Rory McTurk.

Old Norse - Icelandic Literature: A Critical Guide. Edited by Carol J. Clover & John Lindow.

Cover Art

Old Norse-Icelandic Literature: a Short Introduction. Or Online Version Heather O'Donoghue.

 

Saga Collections in English

Cover Art

 The Complete Sagas of Icelanders. Reykjavík: Leifur Eiríksson Pub., 1997.

To find more translations, search the Library's Classic Catalog catalog using the following Subject Headings:

Old Norse poetry--Translations into English.

Sagas--Translations into English.

 

Online Resources

Árni Magnússon Manuscript Collection at the Árni Magnússon Institute for Icelandic Studies--

The institute houses a number of historically and culturally important manuscripts for Old Norse-Icelandic Sagas.
"The Icelandic scholar and antiquarian Árni Magnússon (Arnas Magnæus, 1663-1730) spent much of his life building up what is generally considered to be the most important collection of early Scandinavian manuscripts anywhere. It numbers close to 3,000 items, the earliest dating from the 12th century and provides invaluable sources on the history and culture of medieval, renaissance and early-modern Scandinavia and much of Europe. The collection features many examples of the uniquely Icelandic narrative genre known as the saga, landmarks of world literature still widely translated and read today." --from the Institute's website.

Project Runeberg 

Project Runeberg is an open initiative to publish classic Nordic literature on the Internet and contains more than 300 complete works, including Edda Saemundar, Bandmanna Saga and Groenlendinga Saga.

Icelandic Saga Database

An online resource dedicated to the digital publication of the Icelandic sagas, the Icelandic Saga Database contains all the extant Icelandic family sagas in an easily readable format available in both English translations and Old Norse versions.

The Skaldic Project

Based out of the University of Aberdeen, the Skaldic Project is an international project to edit the corpus of medieval Norse-Icelandic skaldic poetry. Contains a bibliographic database of works, poets, terms, and kennings used in skaldic poetry, and of poetry that appears in sagas.

 

Journals in the Collection

Mediaeval Scandinavia
Call Number: 948.005 ME (main stacks)
ISSN: 0076-5864

Saga-book of the Viking Club
Call Number: 906 VIK (main stacks)
ISSN: 0305-9219

Literatures and Languages Librarian

Profile Image
Paula Carns
Contact Info
200 South Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-0076
pcarns@illinois.edu
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip