This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work 522: Social Work Practice With Communities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work 522: Social Work Practice With Communities   Tags: lexis nexis, news, social work  

Class guide for Social Work 522. How to use Lexis Nexis Academic to track news of grassroots movements in the popular press.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/socw522 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links: Lexis Nexis

Links to the Lexis Nexis Academic database (UIUC log-in required), and search help guides from Lexis Nexis

 

Tracking News after graduation

Lexis Nexis Academic is a great way to target news stories on specific topics, and track them over time. However, this database is subscription-based, and after you graduate and your netID expires, you won't be able to access this database unless you are on-campus.


To continue to track news stories after you graduate, you can use RSS feeds and news sites. See the Other Current Awareness Tools tab for an explanation of how to use RSS feeds.

 

SOCW522 Lexis Nexis Academic class tutorial

Using LexisNexis Academic to track news of grassroots movements in the popular press

LexisNexis Academic is a database that provides access to thousands of full-text Law, Business, News, Medical and Reference resources.

This guide will focus on how to search the News section of LexisNexis Academic, including the full-text of hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, news wires, television and radio broadcast transcripts, and blogs.


Search examples in this guide will be terms relevant to grassroots movements identified by the SOCW522 professor, however these same search strategies can be used for any topic that may be in the news or the topic of editorial discussion, including entertainment, politics, local, regional or national events, etc.

 

 

 

Getting Started

To access the Lexis Nexis Academic database from the UIUC Library Gateway, click on the Online Journals and Databases link.

In the Online Journals & Databases screen, search for Lexis Nexis Academic Universe, and click on the link for this database. If you are off-campus, you will need to log in with your netID and password.

SSHEL

Profile Image
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL)
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
SSHEL North (Room 100) & SSHEL South (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305
Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip