Last Updated: Jan 15, 2014
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
This database has many biographies of famous mathematicians as well as articles on East Asian and South Asian mathematics.
- Credo Reference
Use Credo Reference to search across 422 reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject-specific resources.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text access to dozens of encyclopedias in all subject areas.
For this project, you will type a mathematical research paper. Topics that you
may use include:
- A mathematician or group of mathematicians
- How a culture used or uses mathematics
- How a specific mathematical idea was used by various people
- History of Mathematics Archive
This website is an archive of mathematician biographies and articles on the history of math around the world. Click on "Biographies Index" to search by name or time period, or click on "History Topics Index" to view the list of cultures.
- Biographies of Women Mathematicians
This website is a collection of short biographies of women mathematicians. Click on "Alphabetical Index" at the top to find a specific mathematician, or "Chronological Index" to browse by time period.
- Mathematicians of the African Diaspora
Find profiles of hundreds of mathematicians of African descent. This website was compiled by Professor Scott Williams
This website is a collaboratively created virtual community about mathematics. Select "Contents" and then "Encyclopedia" in the top menu to find articles on specific mathematical terms or mathematicians. You can also browse by subject.
- Wolfram MathWorld
This website is a resource for a variety of mathematical concepts. Click on "History and Terminology" in the left-side menu, then click on "Biography" or "History" to view pages about mathematicians or math history.
- Mathematical Atlas
Explore introductory articles to the areas of modern mathematics. Articles include historical background and pointers to further information.
- Mathematical Quotation Server
Find a quote from a mathematician or generate a random quote for fun.
This Google-powered custom search engine will help you find relevant information faster! Your search will be limited to Web sites collected and evaluated by research experts.
QUICK TIP: Remember to use quotes if your search term is more than one word. Ex: search for "history of mathematics"