This is the "Home" page of the "Film Studies - Guyotte (Fing)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Studies - Guyotte (Fing)  

Last Updated: Oct 10, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/unifilmstudies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Catalog

The University library has a wealth of materials regarding film and film criticism. When using the online catalog to search for movies, use "Feature films" as your search term and choose the "Subject" field. You can locate books on film criticism by searching "Film criticism" and selecting the "Subject" field.

      
     

    Citing Films and Media

    This page from Berkeley offers comprehensive guidance on how to cite films and other media in your bibliography.

    The Purdue Owl site provides clear and thorough citation guidance.

    Databases

    These databases contain publications focused on film studies or containing some amount of film criticism. A subject search for "film criticism" makes a good starting point; add other terms. eg "Ford, John" in additional rows to narrow your topic.

    Online Reference and Web Resources

    • Internet Movie Database
    • The Top Film Criticism Sites
      Use this annotated blog and its recommended sites to jump-start your thinking. Warning: these are not necessarily credible sources, but can provide inspiration when searching databases for peer-reviewed articles.
    • Literatures and Languages Library LibGuide
      The Literature and Languages Library has an in-depth guide to the print materials on film and film criticism available at Illinois.
    • Online Reference Collection
      The University library's online reference collection contains searchable e-books. Credo Reference makes a good starting point for subject searches such as "film criticism." You can also select "Film" from the "Resources by Subject" list for materials solely devoted to film studies.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    University Laboratory High School Library
    Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
    Contact Info
    1212 W. Springfield Avenue
    Urbana, IL 61801
    217-333-1589
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip